Archives

All posts for the day August 11th, 2010

Weight Loss Journey – Gym, Gym and Gym

Published August 11, 2010 by Mary Jane

Anyways, as I’ve mentioned earlier that I wanted to shed at least 20kgs and hopefully my goal is to be able to do it within 6 months! This is going to be hard as I’m not going to get any professional help but going to go with the DIY weight loss program. To start I must set some realistic goals.

1. Make up a food journal entry each day so I can monitor what I eat – I’m too lazy to calories counting and it make eating very miserable! Eat plenty of fruits and vegies and especially salads and smaller portions too!
2. Exercise at least for 45 minutes
3. No snacking, and for supper only eat fruits or yogurt only and maybe nuts as well but if I’m feeling hungry drink a glass of water instead..
4. Weigh myself every 2 weeks to see whether I have lost any weight as suppose to weighing every day – cos our weight fluctuate from day day…

Food diary
-brekkie – 2 piece of whole meal toast with peanut butter and a cup of milo
-lunch – went out with friends and had korean lunch – BAD! BAD! but to compensate for not eating salads for lunch I will have to eat healthier for dinner
-Dinner – stir fried bok choy with some pork mince and a small portion of yogurt for dessert

Gym
-Treadmill for 20 min
-Bicycle rides for 20 min
-warm ups and cool down for 5 minutes

Day 3 – Jamie’s Cook Book Challenge – Coleslaw

Published August 11, 2010 by Mary Jane

Okies, so today – my Jamie’s cook book challenge recipe is coleslaw – yes you’ve heard me I’ve never made coleslaw from scratch before. I always buy them from either KFC’s mini tub coleslaw or occasionally from the supermarkets. To be honest they taste cheap and nasty. Full of vinegar taste to preserve them and probably got a lot of other addictive and there’s absolutely no freshness in them. So I was pretty excited to find this recipe in Jamie’s cook book. Now there’s going to be some difficulty in making them why? Cos I have cheap and nasty Ikea knives set that our rental apartment has provided and it’s going to be difficult trying to chop the cabbage, onions, apples, carrots in match stick size.

However, I persevered and slowly slice each ingredients to the best of my ability – MATCHSTICK size!!!

ingredients

ingredients

Now comes my knife skills with crappy knives – I was pretty happy with my chopping.

chopped up vegies

chopped up vegies

Other ingredients – include mayonnaise -yay I can use the one I made from last night and then a squeeze of lemon juice season with black pepper and salt and now it’s tasting time – it was delicious, fresh, crunchy with the textures of cabbages, carrots and sweetness of apple and tangy flavour from lemon juice. Definitely no more supermarket or KFC coleslaw for me…it’s home made coleslaw from now on 🙂 thanks Jamie!

my nice plate of Jamie's coleslaw

my nice plate of Jamie's coleslaw

close up of the coleslaw

close up of the coleslaw

And so I was very happy with the outcome of the coleslaw and packed them nicely into a container to keep it inside the fridge for lunch tomorrow!

Cook book challenge success? Absolutely!

Restaurant Review – Yuki Japanese Restaurant (Perth)

Published August 11, 2010 by Mary Jane

When it comes to Japanese food, I’m in love…I absolutely love Japanese food and can’t get enough of it. So for our farewell dinner with our friends, my mate organised to have the farewell at Yuki Japanese Restaurant. I’ve been there a few times, and each time I was pretty happy with the food. The service is ok, not exceptional and the food waiting time is quite good.

The place is quite small and cozy situated at this area where there’s a selection of other restaurants – there’s Chinese, Singaporean/Malaysian hawker style shops around there. So we decided to order some takoyaki dishes to share amongst us. I love takoyaki they are so tasty and goes really well with the mayonnaise and the brown sauce which I have no idea what they are called.

takoyaki

takoyaki

Now for mains you could either go for the bowl set or bento set, the majority went for the bento set. Me ofcourse, I went for the bento set – you get a variety of everything – salads, sushi, the mains, rice. Now they have options of bento A, B, and C and basically – from my fish memory bento A will have the base set – salads, sushi, mains, rice and for bento B – you get an additional choice between gyoza – Japanese dumpling or spring rolls and for bento C you get an additional deep fried tempura 🙂 but to be honest bento A is sufficient to fill you right up 🙂 Here are some of the bento boxes and bowl set dishes we went for…

sizzling beef set comes with a bowl of rice

sizzling beef set comes with a bowl of rice

Katsu bento set

Katsu bento set

Teriyaki fish bento set

Teriyaki fish bento set

Look, the serving size was generous and it was tasty and fulfilling – not the best Japanese I’ve had but it’s good enough for a Perth standard 🙂 here are my ratings:

Dining experience: 4 star
Food experience:4 star
Would I recommend it? Yes

Comfort Food Recipe – Finger licking delicious stew pork ribs

Published August 11, 2010 by Mary Jane

Evening Bloggy friends, I haven’t wrote a post on comfort food recipe – so its now come to the time that I talk about this recipe. I made this last night, and with limited ingredients and utensils I had to think hard and decide how I’m going to cook this pork ribs. Anyways, here it is…

Finger licking delicious stew pork ribs

Ingredients

nice slab of pork ribs
2 x table spoon of soya sauce
1 x table spoon of black caramel sauce
minced garlic

Instructions

1. Chop the slab of pork ribs into individual rib cutlets, sometimes your butcher is able to do that for you. Marinate these following sauces, soya sauce and black caramel sauce and add in minced garlic and massage this into the pork ribs. Marinate this for few hours or preferably overnight so that the flavours goes into the meat.

2. drizzle some oil onto the pan and seared the pork ribs until lightly golden brown and then transfer into a small pot and add 1 cup of water to cover the rest of the pork ribs and bring it to boil and then gently simmer for about 45 minutes. Now if you do have a slow cooker or pressure cooker it will definitely reduce the time, I don’t have either with me so I had to simmer it longer until the sauce reduces and become gravy like and the meat starts to come of the bones.

3. Serve it with blanched broccoli and steamed rice and there you have it a finger licking delicious stew pork ribs – and it’s so simple anyone can cook it!

finger licking delicious stew pork ribs

finger licking delicious stew pork ribs