Coconut butter cake

Published June 18, 2012 by Mary Jane

Hello guys, hope you all have a great weekend. Saturday was my last day of class for Japanese πŸ™‚ I have really enjoyed my Japanese class but it was time to put it on hold because it was taking alot of my saturday free time…anyways, I might pick it up next year…I have another sad news – Eugene (my piano teacher) came on Saturday for my regular piano lesson and broke the news to me that he won’t be able to continue teaching me anymore 😦 The reason is he got accepted into the Royal College of UK and he’ll be moving to UK for 2 years to do his masters. So yeah, he said he’ll find us another suitable teacher…how sad I was starting to get use to him and now we have to have another new teacher. Oh well…hopefully we’ll have a nice piano teacher…I wish him all the best for this exciting path…So I haven’t had much time to bake lately and been abit behind on Carol’s baking challenge but I’m sure I’m still going to win my $200 prize money from Pandabear. Now that I have more free time on Saturdays I’ll be able to bake more πŸ™‚

So I found this recipe on Thermie’s recipe book – coconut butter cake I have a bag of desiccated coconut so might as well use it…this recipe is pretty simple just require self-raising flour, milk, butter, sugar, lemon juice, eggs and desiccated coconut. Just whip them together in thermie. So here it is..it tasted very buttery and moist – Pandabear and mummy had a slice of it and they were quite happy with it. I gave some to dad as well..

Now, I’m not sure why but I suspect that my oven is rather strong hence my cake always cracks – but if I reduce the temperature the cake won’t cook properly…sigh..the dilemas…

Here’s a cross section of what it looks like inside…

Here’s a slice for Pandabear, I thought he used to tell me that he doesn’t like coconut flavoured stuff but when he had a slice he was like can I have another slice then I told him that I thought he didn’t like any coconut flavoured stuff he replied “Really? When did I say that?” mmm..very strange…full of coconut goodness πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

