Korean rice cake

Published June 13, 2012 by Mary Jane

I’ve been watching some Korean dramas lately on Netflix – as you guys know series are addictive and Pandabear thinks I’m addicted to them. I’ve since watched ‘scent of a woman’, ‘pasta’ and now I’m currently watching ‘my princess’. I’ve tried to limit myself only a few episodes a night so that I have time for Bible reading and praying ๐Ÿ™‚ Anyways, every time I watch the Korean dramas I wanted to eat Kimchi hehehehe or something spicy. I love their spicy korean rice cakes in hot special sauce. So one day Mum and I went to the Korean shop and bought a packet of fresh rice cakes and asked the dude for the special packet sauce.

The instructions was pretty simple – simply boil these korean spicy rice cakes in a cup of water in a frying pan and add some hot packet sauce and just cook it until the rice cakes are nice and tender. So here it is…

It was pretty tasty except it was really really spicy – my mouth was burning but it was all worth it. Since Pandabear doesn’t eat spicy food I have kept the left overs in the fridge. Just a note to add – spicy korean rice cakes isn’t good for braces because they get stuck and no wonder they warn you not to eat sticky stuff when you have braces. Can I also tell you that spicy korean rice cakes kept inside fridge isn’t as tasty after you chuck it into microwave. It became hard and very chewy which probably explains why I have a sore jaw. Anyways, next time make sure you eat these spicy korean rice cakes fresh it tasted better with runny hot sauce rather than dryish sauce.

Till next time ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

