Playing the piano at basics

Published May 24, 2012 by Mary Jane

Hi Guys,

As I’ve mentioned earlier that I have started my piano lesson with a piano teacher named Eugene. My first lesson started 4 weeks ago where I was told to purchase a Adult All-in-one Course lesson, theory and technic Level 1. I started off learning some basic CDEFG notes on both my left hand and right hand. There were numberings on the musical notes so I was able to pick it up quite quickly. Unfortunately, Eugene told me that I have to stop writing these numberings on the notes because I’ll ended up relying upon it and not being able to read the notes…it was so difficult at first but slowly, when we were going through the intervals I was able to slowly read the notes – 2nds/3rds/4th/5th…

The songs I have been playing are kids songs, there’s even a song called “Maryann” spelt exactly the same way as my name. How cool is that?? So I’m up to simple chords now and have been asked to play Jingle bell without looking at the book. But there is this song called “the Happy song” which I always get stuck on and can’t seemed to move on to another piece šŸ˜¦ It’s the rhythm of the piece that gets to me…

Playing the piano has been really fun apart from doing the theory for homework and finding the time to practice. I really should start devoting at least 30 minutes each day practicing the piano cos I only practice the few hours before Eugene comes šŸ˜›

Anyways, it’s going ok so far and I’m hoping within the next 4-6 months I’ll be able to finish my level 1 book (fingers crossed). I’ve got an assessment this Saturday for Japanese as well…

Have a great day people!

Leave a Reply

