Recent purchase of a Belgian waffle machine from Amazon

Published May 10, 2012 by Mary Jane

Hello Bloggy friends,

Hope this post finds you all well. Recently, I have been quite adventurous wanting to try shopping online. I hardly ever order stuff from ebay let alone Amazon but I was tempted one day and decided that I’ll check out the website and see whether there’s anything that I could buy. I found a Proctor Silex Belgian waffle baker which was selling for about $20 plus shipment comes to be around $50 which I thought was a pretty good buy. I was so excited as it’s my first purchase of appliance online.

So while I was looking around I found a Wilton cake turner as well so I decided to order one for myself as I’ve always wanted one for decorating my cake. So finally the Belgian waffle baker arrived few days ago and I was so excited as it’s compact and really easy to use and I could start making belgian waffle like the ones they do in Gelare ๐Ÿ™‚ Now when I opened the package I found that the plug was different – and I realised oh no the appliance is from the States so their voltage would be different – then I thought I could just use one of those convertors (so I thought) and when Pandabear arrived home I showed him my recent purchase and he told me – you can’t use it cos it’s 120V and you need a transformer to step down the voltage!! Oh no…my heart sank after researching it online for some transformer they were going to charge me $100 which is not worth it consider the machine only cost $50. So my other option is to send it back to Amazon which I checked with Aust Post, the shipment cost was going to be $40…so yeah, very disappointed…here’s the pic of the waffle baker..

 

So the good news is after whinging and sighing, Pandabear decided to look online and see whether we could get one locally in Perth.ย  He managed to find a shop called Cuisine Art that sells a massive belgian waffle baker and he purchased one for me $100 – I will do a post to show you guys my latest gadget baby ๐Ÿ™‚ I have learned my lesson now never purchase an appliance online from Amazon as it’s coming from the States different voltage!!

On the upside, the wilton cake turner has arrived and yay – I can use it cos it doesn’t have a plug…

 

I’ve tested it out and it works perfectly ๐Ÿ™‚ so the moral of the story is never purchased appliances online without reading the specs first!!!

Leave a Reply

