Vegie Patch Relocation…

Published April 26, 2011 by Mary Jane

Hello there, one of the daunting task for this particular Easter break was for me to start relocating my tomato plants and capsicum plants as they are growing so big now and they are crowding together too. I was rather hesitant to move them from previous experience when I tried to move one of my chilli plants to a new place it died on me 😦 I was a little devastated as it was one of the larger chilli plants…NO!!! So this time I made sure I listened to my father in law’s advise, when shifting plants to a new area, you must firstly dig a deep hole and soaked the soil with lots of water so the soil is moist and rather than digging the whole plant up and shaking excess soil off, dig around the plant and carry the whole lot of soil across to the new area. So even though it was a little tedious, I made sure I followed the instruction this time and carted all the plants across the new area. Once you have covered them up with moist soil proceed to water them lots….

So here’s a snap shot of my very proud vegie garden patch – they are growing very nicely…and soon I’ll be able to harvest some fresh organic vegies soon.. 🙂

climbing beans

climbing beans

Remember last time, I mentioned I tried to untangle these climbing beans so that they can all fit through the wires, well some of them died along the way but eventually the ones who have survived managed to climb themselves onto the wires without my ‘dodgy help’ and they are growing nicely, I’m hoping I would be able to harvest them before winter comes. Though my father in law told me there’s no way I will be able to harvest these beans as I have planted in a wrong season and they will eventually die when the cold weather hits in 😦 sniff sniff, one can only hope that our Perth weather stays a little warmer this year….

Chilli plants

Chilli plants

My chilli plants are flowering quite nicely and within next few weeks, I should be able to harvest some chillies – yum yum, I love my chillies…they are very green and healthy thanks to the cow manure and some veggie fertilisers which I’ve recently purchased from Bunnings…

climbing snow peas

climbing snow peas

Now these climbing snow peas ain’t climbing up much compared to my climbing beans but they are slowly moving their way up. My friend told me you could actually eat these leaves on it’s own. Then I was like, but if I eat these leaves there won’t be any snow peas coming out of it. She laughed..and said no you only eat them after you’ve harvested your snow peas. Oh!! (blush..) I see..that makes sense…

curly lettuce

curly lettuce

These curly lettuce are growing quite well, I’ve harvested them a few times already – except I realised I have planted all seeds together so they kinda looks like random weeds hehehehe oh well, at least they are edible…

Cucumber plants

Cucumber plants

These cucumber plants are quite huge with leaves and they actually take up alot of space too. These cucumber leaves are rather furry and sticky and if you’re not careful it seems like its going to scratch your hands. I was told by my friend that I could just let it grow and it will climb on the ground. However, I managed to put some bamboo sticks to tie the large stems as the leaves were quite large it was drooping.

Tomato plants

Tomato plants

tomato plants with some fruits

tomato plants with some fruits

The tomato plants have started flowering already and have grown so much from last time. Unfortunately it was getting rather crowded so I decided it was time to relocate them to a new area. I was surprised to see that even though the tomato plants were quite low they have started flowering and there were tomato fruits on them already – so cute…:-)

Capsicum plants

Capsicum plants

I have also decided to shift these capsicum plants from my small vegie patch to a bigger area as they’ve started to flower already and it’s getting a little crowded too. I’m really surprised that even though they were quite short looking it has started to flower already.

vegie garden patch

vegie garden patch

Now that I have shifted my capsicum plants over to a new place, it left some space which I decided to shift my only two basil plants left. I’m hoping they will survive as I know basil plants are rather weak and any movement to the new area might potentially kill it. I’m hoping that it won’t die as I haven’t had much luck with planting basil plants. Well, one can only hope – I just moved it this morning so I’ll wait for a few days and hopefully they will survive.

Now it’s time to harvest my salad mix…fresh yummy organic salad – it’s so rewarding to think you could just step out to your own backyard and harvest fresh vegies/salad for your lunch next day…
all the hard work is really worth it… they taste so fresh and crunchy…

Leave a Reply

