My younger sister’s 24th Birthday celebration :-)

Published April 26, 2011 by Mary Jane

Anyways, it was time for my younger sister’s 24th Birthday celebration. Remember for her last birthday I baked this strawberry sponge cake and muffins, well this year I decided I won’t be baking but instead will head over to a newish patisserie place to order her birthday cake 🙂 I asked her which restaurants she would like to go for her birthday and she said Chinese! Well, one of my favourite chinese restaurants in Perth is ‘Hong Kong BBQ’ and I’ve already done up a blog post on this particular restaurant so this post will highlight the dishes we have ordered that night. The restaurant is owned by three sisters from Hong Kong and I favourite one is the youngest one. She recognised me as I walked into the restaurant. ‘Long time no see..you’re back from Melbourne already – my friend has came back’ LOL. What a cute auntie, I used to take a few of my colleagues to Hong Kong BBQ for lunch and usually a huge hearty serve of roast pork and rice I would return back to work feeling bloated and extremely sleepy too 😛

Anyways, that night we have reserved a table and it was a saturday night so they decided to sat us down upstairs – where it’s a lot quieter than downstairs. I picked the dishes for that night as nobody wanted to choose the dishes from the menu so I volunteered that night. Here are some of the wonderful dishes we had…

Seafood clay pot

Seafood clay pot

Stir fried chinese vegies

Stir fried chinese vegies

Chilli pepper salt pork ribs

Chilli pepper salt pork ribs

Roast pork and duck combination

Roast pork and duck combination

deep fried toothfish

deep fried toothfish

stir fried butter prawns

stir fried butter prawns

Here’s a snap shot of all our dishes…

The great thing about dining at a Chinese restaurant is that there’s minimal waiting time for your food. Dishes came straight after one another and they were delicious. I must admit I was quite disappointed with the butter prawns stir fry – it was a little plain for my liking, we usually go for the salted egg yolk prawns – and that’s delicious, but I thought I’ll try their other prawn dishes – clearly their salted egg yolk prawns are still one of the best prawn dishes there….Another great thing about Chinese restaurant is that you can order various dishes to share and that gives you a a variety at a reasonable price. So we were really happy overall with our dishes.

Then it was time for their fruits which was served with some coconut jelly…

Then it was time for the birthday cake..yum yum – I ordered a orange, almond polenta cake. I’ve never had polenta in a cake before, but this particular cake was delicious, very moist and it had a nice tangy orange taste not too sweet but just right. Everybody enjoyed the cake…

I got my younger sister a lovely Burberry white wallet which she loved it so much that she didn’t want to use it. hehehehe…I bought it in London and knew it was the wallet for her….here’s a picture of the birthday girl…Maureen aka MoMo…does she look like me??

2 comments on “My younger sister’s 24th Birthday celebration :-)

  • Leave a Reply

