Time of Vegies & Fruits crisis = Vegie Garden Patch

Published March 21, 2011 by Mary Jane

Hello there, as promised tonight will be the night that I resume to my blog post – I try not to break my promise πŸ™‚ Anyways, with the recent Brisbane flood all the vegies and fruits have gone up. I find myself struggling to pay for bananas that cost around $11 per kg as suppose the usual $3 something per kg and cucumbers, beans, etc are just horrendous. So how to solve this problem, plant your own vegie garden. I’ve been wanting to start planting for ages but haven’t had the opportunity to. So far I’ve only got my chilli plants and sweet potato leaves left (I must admit these two plants are awesome, it requires not much attention and care and they’ll survive without water for at least a few days). Anyways, my chilli plants were starting to grow out of control so my first task is to trim them and move one of the crowded ones across.

On Saturday, I decided to pay the garden section of Bunnings a visit. I love going to Bunnings cos they sell all sorts of goodies there. But the only thing that tempts me is that sausage sizzle that they have on every time I pay them a visit and I can smell it from miles away (drooling). So my task was to choose some seedlings plants from the garden, buy some manure, compost and mulch to start up my vegie garden patch. It was a challenging task indeed with so many herbs, vegies and fruits seedlings available…but I nailed down to tomatoes, baby carrots, string beans, cucumbers, coriander, basil, lettuce, capsicum and rockets. I also went to Crazy Clark and bought some packets of seeds that were on special πŸ™‚ So here’s my home made vegie garden patch…

Now it may seem that my vegie garden patch is quite small so it shouldn’t be that hard setting it up. Can I tell you I’ve spent at least 3-4 hours trying to set one up. Carting these heavy bags of soil, compost, manure and mulch and dumping them onto the ground and individually empty the seedling plants into the ground so I can plant them individually. It’s extremely tiring especially when you’re doing it while the sun is shining in the arvo!! I had a full dose of my Vitamin Ds. I remembered at my mummy’s place we had some left over bricks, so I went to my mummy’s place and carted back some bricks to set up a patch. Now I didn’t want to be too ambitious by setting a large size of vegie patch on my dead lawn, I wanted to see whether the seedling plants would survive on a dead lawn – it was more or less a trial and error…but TA DA…I’m so proud of myself, I made up my own vegie patch that actually looks half decent…it’s been 2 days already and the plants are looking rather healthy, apart from my basil that are struggling a little…

Honestly, there are times that I think to myself all this hard work it’s probably just easier going to the markets to buy some fresh fruits and vegies. But my heart tells me there’s nothing like your own organic vegie garden and if it all goes well, I’ll be harvesting them in due time. Patience is indeed a virtue!! Btw, my backyard now smells like cow manure too attracting lots of evil flies!!!

So along with my vegies and fruits seedlings, my mummy reminded me long long ago I bought this solar plant bag that dangles from pergola and you can grow strawberries, cucumbers and cherry tomatoes in them without using any ground space. So I bought some strawberries and cherry tomatoes seedlings to plant into this solar plant bag and I just need time to pop over to my mummy’s house to plant them. I will show you guys the pictures once I have planted them πŸ™‚ I’m excited – it’ll be awesome to have fresh strawberries and cherry tomatoes…

Anyways, my vegie garden patch is still alive and I’ve just recently watered it so I’ll let you guys know how I go with my growing and possibly harvesting further down the track…:-)

Leave a Reply

