Jamie’s Cook Book Challenge – Good old bread and butter pudding with a marmalade glaze and cinnamon and orange butter

Published January 10, 2011 by Mary Jane

Evening bloggy friends, hope this post finds you all well. I’ve managed to drag myself to work this morning, despite lack of sleep last night as Pandabear and I had 3 hours of nap and woke up around 11pm and couldn’t get back to sleep. I needed to break the routine, still go abit of sore throat but wasn’t sick enough to stay in bed! Anyways, over the weekend I decided to soldier on with Jamie’s dessert recipes and came across this bread and butter pudding. I’ve never made it before and have heard that this recipe is really simple and it’s one of those classic old English recipes that everyone loves 🙂 So here it is…

ingredients

ingredients

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees and first make your flavoured butter by mixing the butter with nutmeg, cinnamon and orange zest

Then it was time to butter the bread using the flavoured butter and slice the bread in half diagonally. The recipe said to use 8 slices of good quality bread – that’s heaps of bread!! I couldn’t even fit all of the bread onto my chopping board, some were left on the plates…

Now it’s separating the eggs – the recipe says 9 eggs! That’s a lot of eggs!! whisk together the egg yolks and egg white with sugar then gently heat the milk and cream in a saucepan with vanilla pods. Man, I have a feeling this is going to be a real fattening dessert with eggs, milk, cream and butter!

It was time to line up the breads into my square baking dish. Jamie used a round ramekin looking baking dish for it. He didn’t mention anything about how to align them, so I did the best I could to align them or rather squeeze them all in…wow it was fully packed!!

Then I got carried away with trying to align the breads properly and nearly forgot about my custard mixture and quickly rushed over the stove to turn it off, I think it became a little thicker than it should be…time to pour the mixture into the baking tray so that the bread will soak the custard mixture up for at least 20 minutes…

Then it was time to pop this into the oven and pour enough boiling water to come halfway up the side of the dish and bake this for about 45 minutes. In the mean time start heating up the marmalade jam in a saucepan for glaze..

Then it was time to fish out the baking tray and I thought the top looked a little on the charred side, but I had a look at Jamie’s recipe photo and it looked alittle charred maybe my oven is playing up again 😦 so it was time to glaze the bread with some marmalade and it looked glossy! Pop the baking tray back into the oven for about 5 min

I allowed it to cool and firm up slightly before I slice a piece to try it…

Well, I really liked the flavour of the break and butter pudding especially with it’s vanilla custard flavour. I was meant to bring it to church the next day, but both of us didn’t feel too well so we ended up leaving it at home and I thought well, we’re not going to finish it all off, so I chucked it into the fridge. Which might of explained why the bread and butter pudding tasted alittle on the heavy/dense side, but the flavour is quite good. I think I might have over cooked the custard bit but oh well…

Jamie’s cook book challenge success? Yup!

Leave a Reply

