Jamie’s Cook Book Challenge – Nan’s lemon drizzle cake

Published November 22, 2010 by Mary Jane

okies, I think I’m on the right track of finishing all the dessert recipes in Jamie’s cook book – yay πŸ™‚ but the savoury section..mmm…it seems like a mission impossible. Nevermind, I’ll get there eventually…so came across this easy recipe – what caught my eyes is Nan’s lemon drizzle cake. Now I’m not sure whether I have mentioned to you that there’s 3 things that I’m very patient & fond with. Elderly people, kids and animals. So Nan falls into Elderly people so immediately I have a good feeling about this cake. I’ve never baked a lemon drizzle cake before and it sounds like it’s quite fun…

Now, the recipe requires baking the cake with poppy seeds – I’m not really a seeds person but I don’t mind poppy seeds and I’ve never baked a cake with poppy seeds in them. So I was happily folding the poppy seeds into the butter, egg and flour mixture…

Then it was time to add in some lemon zest. Woo…I love lemon zest it’s going to make the cake quite tangy…

Time to pour the mixture into the cake tin and popping it into the oven…

I made sure that I set my timer on my iphone after the episode of cheese cake drama with the oven timer failing on me. It was for 45 minutes and it was time to check the cake out…

The cake seemed to have cracked at the top, but when I checked it against the photos from Jamie’s cook book his cake also had some cracks too. Then the next fun part was to use your skewer and poke tiny holes into your cake and then make your lemon syrup – heating the lemon juice with caster sugar. Then it was time to pour the lemon syrup into the cake and it’s fascinating to see the syrup gets sucked into the sponge cake πŸ™‚ and wait for it to cool while you start making your icing…

Now for some reason, my cake doesn’t look very tall compared to Jamies. I was starting to think whether my sponge cake would taste like sponge cake anyways, I persisted on with drizzling the icing. Jamie recommended to drizzle the icing in the centre from top and it should make that drizzle effect. It did at first but I think I had too much icing and it all sort of not only covered the whole entire plate but it kinda landed around the whole cake as well. I had to quickly transfer the cake to a new plate.

Now for the moment of truth to slice a piece of cake and have a look inside…

Woo la la…the cake actually looked half decent and very moist πŸ™‚ that’s great…

I didn’t try a piece, I popped that piece of cake back to the whole cake and brought it to church the next day. My mate had a piece and she said it’s quite nice πŸ™‚ and when I went to grab my plate it was all empty so I guess it was edible…

Cook book challenge success? Yes!

3 comments on “Jamie’s Cook Book Challenge – Nan’s lemon drizzle cake

  • Leave a Reply

