Jamie’s cook book challenge – The ultimate fruit meringue with vanilla cream, hazelnuts and caramel

Published November 17, 2010 by Mary Jane

Okies, it’s time for a Jamie’s cook book challenge. Still persisting on with the dessert section. I reckon I’ll be able to finish the dessert part challenge soon…but I’m way behind with the savoury section. I know I still have about less than 3 more months to go and it could still be doable 🙂

So I came across this meringue recipe. To be honest, I’m not a fan of meringue and they are abit sweet for my liking. I’m more of a savoury person and there’s only a small selection of desserts that I like and it’s definitely not a meringue. But since I’m not eating it I thought it will be cool to learn how to make meringue. I love how the recipe incorporates lovely seasonal fruits it just makes the dessert look a little healthier consider it has vanilla cream and caramel. What an evil combination! Here it is…

ingredients

ingredients

It was time to whip up some egg whites, and unfortunately I’ve accidentally left some egg shells inside when I cracked some eggs and some egg yolk accidentally dripped into the bowl. I was reading Jamie’s cook book carefully and it said to make sure you don’t have any egg yolk with your egg whites cos it might not peak! No!!! The way of testing it out to ‘meringue perfection’ is to ensure when you tip the bowl upside down the meringue mixture stays in the bowl. That’s a pretty risky movement…so I decided to half tipped the bowl upside down just incase the whole thing drops to the floor…

I was so excited that the meringue mixture did not fall out of the bowl. Then it was time to add some sugar into the bowl and make the meringue mixture glossy…

Then it was time to put the mixture onto an oven baking tray…it actually looks half decent 🙂

Jamie’s cook book said to bake the meringue for about an hour. I have a gut feeling that my oven will play up so I went and checked out my baked meringue and to my horror it actually looks a little brown on the outside. So I quickly fished it out…

I decided to assemble the fruit meringue the next day as I was taking the dessert to church the next day, I didn’t want my fruit meringue to be soggy. So on Sunday morning, I woke up extra early and started chopping my strawberries and washing my blue berries. Then it was time to roast my hazelnuts and crush them slightly…

Then it was time to make my caramel. Which I thought shouldn’t take too long but it ended up taking a while and eventually they are done. I quickly assemble the rest of the vanilla cream on top of the fruits and hazelnuts and drizzle the caramel mixture on top and it made a sizzling noise – cool! But melted some of my vanilla cream 😦 Anyways, I had so much caramel mixture left so I decided to make some random caramel toffee like shapes and put it next to the meringue mixture. Ta da!! Here’s my final product – it actually looks quite nice…

I didn’t have time to get Pandabear to taste test it, but it looked quite nice so we brought it to Church and thank God, all gone afterwards 🙂

Leave a Reply

