Restaurant Review – Hu Tong Dumpling Bar (Melbourne)

Published September 25, 2010 by Mary Jane

Hello bloggy friends, hope this post finds you well. I won’t be able to post every day as I’m back to being an office worker again and this time the job requires me to stare intensely at these huge data on the computer which is starting to give me headaches, so when I get home the last thing I want to do is staring at the computer. Anyways, this particular restaurant was recommended by my cousin – he has dined at this restaurant for a few times and he recommends their dumplings there. Now as most of you would know I love my dumplings and are always trying different restaurant to find some good dumplings.

Now when you walk into the restaurant you can spot some people making dumplings at the glass window near the kitchen, I guess this add a little bit of special touch to the restaurant..

As for drinks I felt like some nice cold soya bean drink, when it arrived I was surprised it came in a bottle and not freshly made soya bean. A little disappointed the best they can do is serve it in a glass that way I probably won’t know it’s bottled.

For mains we decided to share a few dishes, there were 3 of us. So we went for Shanghainese dumplings – they are one of my favourite dumplings. When it came out it looks great, the dumplings were nicely folded and you can see the skin is quite thin not doughy and there’s definitely some soup inside it.

Then we decided to have their wontons in sauce – when it arrived, the presentation was good, but the taste was only ok. It was over powered by the vinegar sauce, I don’t really like the taste of vinegar in my dishes. Actually I don’t like vinegar full stop. So this dish was average.

Then we had some stir fried greens to make things more healthy. The vegies were nicely done, not overcooked just right.

The next dish was some crispy ducks – it was quite flavoursome except I think they might have overcooked it, the duck was slightly dry – so this dish was only ok.

Our last dish was pan fried dumplings, when it arrived the presentation was great, you can see a crispy layer of golden skin around the dumplings and the dumpling dough is not thick. I liked this dish and I think they’ve done well

As for dessert, I decided to order the red bean pancake, you would think after all those dumplings the last thing I want to have for my dessert is something floury. hehehe

The red bean pancake was quite yummy, it’s got a crispy skin on the outside and warm red bean filling on the inside. This dish was a winner.

So overall, we’ve had some good and average dishes – I think the next time I’m there I would definitely try other dishes as a comparison.

Here’s my rating:

Dining experience: 4 star
Food experience: 3.5 star – due to a few average dishes
Would I recommend? Probably – need to try out other dishes to compare.

Leave a Reply

