Restaurant Review – Caffe Moretti (Melbourne)

Published September 22, 2010 by Mary Jane

Evening bloggy friends, well I have survived my first day of Jenny Craig food. Yay 🙂 I’m very proud of myself even though I was tempted by some yummy spanish and chinese food when I met up with my friend. I resisted the temptation and it worked! Yay 🙂

Anyways, this particular restaurant was recommended by my sister in law. They have been there a few times and have had quite good food over there. We decided to try out dinner there one night. I was curious to find out whether the restaurant was owned by Italian or whether the chef was Italian. Then, I took a peek inside the kitchen and to my surprise it was all Asians. I was a little disappointed as I was expecting some Italian chefs. Nevermind, let’s hope their Italian version of food is good…

It was rather packed that night, this restaurant seemed really popular. Anyways, we decided to share a few of yummy mains. There was pizza, gnocchi, calamari, and slow cooked pork belly with vegies.

Pizza

Pizza

The pizza was fantastic, generous in the filling and very tasty – they have certainly done well for the pizza – good on you Italian trained Asians…

gnocchi

gnocchi

The gnocchi was also nicely done, very soft and it melts in your mouth. I really liked the gnocchi and the sauce was really creamy and lovely – yum…

Calamari

Calamari

The Calamari was a little disappointing as you can tell straight away the calamari was a little white and it wasn’t deep fried to golden brown. When I tasted the calamari it didn’t have much flavour into it.

Slow cooked pork belly

Slow cooked pork belly

Slow cooked pork belly was disappointing too, it was tender and soft but it had that strong porky taste which puts me off. The crackling wasn’t crispy – I prefer crispy crackling rather than soft and tender fatty crackling. It had enough gravy but the porky taste was just too strong for my liking.

Then it was dessert time…

Bread & butter pudding

Bread & butter pudding

The bread and butter pudding looked really nice, and as I’ve never had one before I was hoping to try it. I was picturing the bread and butter pudding melts in your mouth but it seemed a little hard in texture, compact and quite dense. I’m not sure whether it’s suppose to taste this way. But the flavour is quite nice.

Panacotta

Panacotta

The panacotta was ok, wasn’t fantastic – it was a little grainy to my liking and it didn’t have that wobbly texture…and it didn’t taste that nice with that raspberry jelly.

then there was coffee with a nice “M” pattern on top…that’s nice…

The other time we decided to take away some desserts – and they were fantastic..a variety of small desserts – lemon tart, profiterole, chocolate eclairs and little meringue tart.

Overall, the mains were quite nice and the dessert wasn’t crash hot but our previous take away desserts were divine 🙂 The Asian chefs have done well, just need to improve on the Calamari and pork belly and it’s all good. Here’s my rating:

Dining Experience: 4 star
Food Experience: 4 star
Would I recommend? Yes!

Leave a Reply

