Jamie’s Cook Book Challenge – Fifteen Chocolate Brownies

Published September 21, 2010 by Mary Jane

Well, I haven’t been doing my Jamie’s Cook Book Challenge lately – been feeling not so motivated..so I thought I’ll start baking random stuff and when I get bored of that I’ll come back to Jamie’s cook book. So I’m back on it again 🙂

This time, its a dessert recipe – chocolate brownies, I’ve baked them once before and my recollection of them is that it’s rock hard!! So I thought to myself, I shall try these chocolate brownies.

Ingredients

Ingredients

Melting the butter & chocolate

Melting the butter & chocolate

I love the bit of melting the butter and chocolate in my big bowl over some simmer water – this sure is a fattening recipe. Just watching the butter and chocolate melting is quite entertaining…

Silky smooth brownie mixture

Silky smooth brownie mixture

then it was time to add in all the dry ingredients, nuts – I substituted it with pistachio nuts as I had some in my pantry. Sugar – loads of it I thought I must have read the recipe wrong a whopping 350g worth of sugar…that’s heaps!!! Then followed by flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and eggs. Jamie said it should look silky after you have mixed it. Mine do look silky and oily and maybe glossy…

It was the most easiest dessert I’ve ever made, it took less than 1/2 hour for me to whip up the brownies. Most of the time was watching it bake in the oven and wait for it to cool down so I can slice them into squares..Jamie told me that make sure I don’t over bake them, they still need to be gooey inside and crispy on the outside.

I poked it with my metal skewer and it was still sticky inside, and pulled it out and rest in the tray until it cools down and gently move it to a chopping board. It was sure springy on the outside and gooey on the inside.

I took a slice of it and it was delicious though it felt as if my teeth are falling off. A little too sweet for my liking – sorry Jamie I just think there’s too much sugar. I’m a savoury girl not a sweet tooth! It was still warm when I had it and the gooeyness of the chocolate is just devine 🙂

cook book challenge success? Yes!

Leave a Reply

