Comfort Food Recipe – Cottage Pie or Shepherds Pie

Published September 21, 2010 by Mary Jane

Evening bloggy friends, hope this post finds you well. Wow, I had an eventful day. Went to the doctor followed by a visit to Jenny Craig. I know you heard me, Jenny Craig – it’s crazy, I can’t believe it I actually made an appointment to see them today. Anyways, stay tuned for my full post on Jenny Craig. Here’s a real easy simple lazy person’s recipe..Cottage pie or shepherds pie. I had loads of potatoes left and they were starting to go off, so I thought to myself it’s time to make a cottage pie or shepherds pie.

Cottage Pie or Shepherds pie

Ingredients

5-6 potatoes
1 carrot
1 cup of frozen peas
1 tin can of tomatoes
1 packet of Masterfood’s cottage pie recipe base
400g of beef mince
1 tablespoon of milk
1 tablespoon of butter
some slices of cheese

Instructions

1. Dice the potatoes and carrots and pop them in a pot of boiling water until they are tender. Set the carrots aside. Mash the potatoes, season with salt and pepper and add in butter and milk.

2. brown the beef mince in a pan and add in frozen peas, add in the recipe base and a tin of tomatoes. Simmer slowly until it’s all well-combined.

3. Grab a loaf tin or square pan and fill it with the beef mince mixture, top up with the mash potatoes and the carrots and spread some cheddar cheese in my case I didn’t have any so I substitute with plastic cheese – works just as well. Then pop it in the oven for about 25 minutes on 180 degrees or until the cheese melts and mash potatoes looks golden brown and crispy.

Enjoy…

Ingredients

Ingredients

Leave a Reply

