Sushi oh Sushi..lovely sushi (Sushi Night)

Published September 14, 2010 by Mary Jane

Anyways, as most of you know that I’m into Japanese food especially sushi – I don’t really like sashimi as it’s raw..most of the raw stuff I don’t like. But I love sushi and can eat it everyday. So one particular weekend, I decided to head to my brother in law’s place and make sushi with my sister in law, she’s never made sushi before so it’s great we get to have fun in the kitchen making sushi 🙂

I’ve set myself some goals, we will make 3 types of sushi – normal sushi maki roll, temaki which is a hand roll sushi – cone shaped ones and nigiri which is an oval shaped sushi rice with filling on top you get them quite common from sushi train. To add variety I decided to try out a rainbow sushi which is inverted with the rice on the outside and sushi skin on the inside and sashimi with avocado on top. So here it is..

Ingredients

Ingredients

It is definitely time consuming in preparing the ingredients for the sushi filling. So that’s why we don’t make sushi often, only when we are craving for it. The time you take to cut and slice and cook the ingredients you’ll probably be pretty hungry. Then assembling it as well…

Rainbow sushi

Rainbow sushi

The rainbow inverted sushi is very hard to make, especially slicing it. The avocados were really slippery and also it would have looked nicer if I also had a red tuna on it to make it even prettier, but pretty happy with my results. My first time making rainbow inverted sushi.

Nigiri sushi

Nigiri sushi

I bought a nice piece of fresh salmon from my favourite place – Victoria Market. I love it…it was so fresh, no fishy smell and it aint slimy and usually I would avoid raw fish like anything. But when I dipped this with my soya sauce and horse radish. It was delicious! I think I ate lots of nigiri sushi that night, beat my sashimi record!!

Temaki

Temaki

The Temaki hand cone sushi roll was harder than it looks, you are suppose to have a crispy cone, but mine turned out to be soggy..I wonder if it’s too much rice or too much su – vinegar water. Anyways, it was well worth the try.

Overall, we had a great sushi night – it was tasty and we served it with miso tofu soup 🙂

Sushi with miso soup

Sushi with miso soup

But we were all sushi out afterwards..so full with so much sushi rice left…next time we will balance it out with some deep fried tempura 🙂

Leave a Reply

