Baking Kaya Bread buns

Published September 8, 2010 by Mary Jane

Well, it’s always tempting heading out to QV…why? Cos every time I head towards QV I will cross my path to Bread Top and the aroma is just irresistible, and with the wonderful variety of different flavours – you just want to rush in and buy all sorts of sweet bread buns. My favourite is still the sausage bun. Nothing beats that delicious sausage bun. So I thought to myself, well I’ve tried baking breads before back in Perth and they always 99.9% fail – either rock hard or soggy or burnt hehehe it’s terrible – I now have bread baking phobias. So I decided it was time to research online on bread recipes. The goodness of google search, who needs a cook book when you get clips of recipes online with slide shows as well 🙂 So I came across the sweet bread recipe and it seemed easy enough, just quite time consuming you have to leave the dough to rest for an hour and then once you roll them into tiny doughs rest for another 1/2 hour.

Now, when it comes to waiting for the dough to rest – its a killer for me, I’m not really patient when it comes to waiting – cos to me that’s a waste of time. But what can you do, so I entertained myself by heading out to QV to pick up some grocery items. Now you would think why am I baking sweet bread instead of my favourite sausage bread. Ah..there’s a method of madness in my thinking, if this bread fails – that’s ok, I can still try baking my sausage bread buns that way – this kaya bread buns is my baking experiment for buns if worst comes to worst it didn’t turn out, I’ll just chuck them in the bin – since it’s sweet it won’t kill me…heheheh evil laughs…

Ingredients

Ingredients

filling the kaya into the dough

filling the kaya into the dough

Applying egg wash to the dough

Applying egg wash to the dough

bread buns fresh out of the oven

bread buns fresh out of the oven

bread buns on wire rack for cooling

bread buns on wire rack for cooling

time to break them apart and taste them

time to break them apart and taste them

As I waited patiently for my bread buns to bake, the aroma of the bread fills up our apartment – it feels like I’m in bread top hehehe..anyways, when it came straight out of the oven – they actually look quite good and after I waited for a few minutes for them to cool down and it’s time to taste. I gave one to Pandabear and he ate it..not bad he says, and ask for a second one. It’s a good sign, at least it’s edible. It’s fluffy inside, but not as fluffy as the breads you get from the bread top. Oh well, at least it’s edible 🙂 and Nope, I didn’t make the kaya from scratch had a jar of it in my fridge so I cheated hehehehe…

Pretty happy with my baking effort, still need some improvement but I’ll get there one day. I even thought about working for bread top store so I could learn how to bake these delicious sweet bread buns 🙂

Leave a Reply

