Restaurant Review – Max Brenner (Melbourne)

Published September 7, 2010 by Mary Jane

Honestly, I’m not a coffee drinker nor a tea drinker when it comes to night time. Why? Cos I can’t sleep if I drink either at night. So usually I’ll opt for the hot chocolate with some nice dessert to compliment this. I love Max Brenner and I wish they have them in Perth..but no we have nothing in Perth, no star bucks, no krispy creme, no max brenner and the list goes on…so it was my opportunity of getting a double dose of Max Brenner!!!

As usual on a weeknight, the place is packed…and you know this place is popular even on a week night? Why cos of the lovely goodness of Chocolates ๐Ÿ™‚

What I love about this place is the moment you step inside the restaurant, the aroma of both Belgian waffles and chocolate just makes you salivate. You get to see this large machine churning the delicious hot chocolate sauce…

Now you have to choose your order and pay at the front counter and they hand you a table stand and will bring out your goodies. I usually go for the usual Belgian waffles with strawberries and icecream – this is my favourite and we decided to try out the crepes as well.

Banana Crepes with icecream

Banana Crepes with icecream

When we received our desserts, we were stoked – both looks great…but when it comes down to taste the Belgian waffle is a winner – the waffle not like the ones you get from Gelare they are actually crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside and it goes so well with the delicious mouth watering chocolate sauce…..on the other hand the banana crepe isn’t too bad either, but I must admit due to the temperature of the crepes it makes the banana really mushy and it just didn’t give that chewing texture but it’s well accompanied by the delicious mouth watering chocolate sauce ๐Ÿ™‚

For drinks, as I’ve mentioned I’m a regular hot chocolate drinker – this time I decided to try something different – a hot chocolate with mini waffles inside in a hug mug. I was thinking are they going to dunk the waffles into the hot chocolate drink? Not quite…

Hot chocolate with mini waffles

Hot chocolate with mini waffles

Well when it arrived it really surprised me, there were just these little round chocolate bubbles floating on top of my hot chocolate and I spooned some out and tasted them – they are just like rice bubbles except coated with chocolate. To be honest, I was a little disappointed I was imagining it to have a huge waffle inside it…but I guess, that’s just kinda weird too. I ended up fishing all the chocolate rice bubbles out and eat them separately and then drink my hot chocolate. I think I prefer the ordinary hot chocolate…

Look, it’s a casual cafe with excellent desserts and if you ask me it’s definitely one of the places you must visit for a cup of hot chocolate and their famous Belgian waffle…

Here’s my rating:

Dining experience: 4 star
Food experience: 4 star
Would I recommend it? Yes!

Leave a Reply

