Comfort Food Recipe – Warm Chicken Porridge

Published September 7, 2010 by Mary Jane

Evening bloggy friends, sorry I haven’t been constantly posting everyday. Ever since I’ve started working it has prevented from blogging as much due to my sore peepers 😦 So, today I had a day off work and looks like tomorrow I’ve got another day off – yay…I’ll have time to update my blog again. Anyways, this particular recipe is so simple honestly it’s not worth mentioning…but since it falls under comfort food, I might as well make a post…

Warm Chicken Porridge

Ingredient

4 x drum sticks
1/4 of chinese cabbage
a small piece of ginger
1 cup of rice
2 stalks of spring onion
some coriander

Instructions

1. I made my porridge in my rice cooker as it has the soup/porridge function and that way I don’t have to constantly stir it and ensure it’s over cooked. But if you don’t have a rice cooker that has this function simply cook it in a pot and stir often. So washed the rice and chuck in the drum sticks – I used the drum sticks as I didn’t put in any chicken stock and the drum sticks will have some chicken bones to give that extra flavour.

2. Slice the chinese cabbage finely. Pour enough water to the top of the pot and slice the ginger and put that in. Start the cooking process. Once the meat is tender, tear it apart with a fork and get rid of bones and chuck in the chinese cabbage and continue cooking

3. Once the chinese cabbage is cooked, add some salt for seasoning and there you have it a delicious warm chicken porridge and serve with some chopped spring onion & coriander and drizzle with some sesame oil and it’s fit for any wintery day 🙂

Leave a Reply

