Comfort Food Recipe – Bak Kut Teh

Published September 4, 2010 by Mary Jane

Hello Bloggy friends, what a glorious Saturday – I get to sleep in till about lunch time and whipped myself & Pandabear some nice scramble eggs with toast while we’re both still in our PJs hehehee.. anyways, the forecast in Melbourne for today is thunderstorm and lots of rain. I took a stare out the window and the strong wind is blowing the trees everywhere. Kinda scared to duck out and do my weekly grocery shopping at the Asian grocery store & Vic Markets…

Last night I decided to make Bak Kut Teh for dinner, I think Bak Kut Teh is more common for Malaysian/Singaporean cuisine, not so Taiwanese – I mean we do have similar dish but the flavourings are different? So what is Bak Kut Teh? It’s pork ribs served with special herbs & spices with garlic soup. You can eat it with steamed rice or you can eat it with deep fried stringy pastry. This dish is so simple anyone can make it 🙂 it’s a great comfort food dish on a wintery cold night.

Here it is…

Ingredients

1 x packet of Bak Kut Teh spice
3-4 cloves of garlic
1.5 kg of pork ribs
2L of water

Instructions

1. First bring a pot of water to boil, slice your pork ribs into relatively medium size chunks, peel the garlic and leave it as whole. Once the water is boiling put in your sliced pork ribs, garlic and spice – the Bak Kut Teh spice has a really strong flavour and quite peppery, so what I do is when the soup is flavoursome already I would fish out the small packet of herbs. Bring the soup to boil and simmer for about an hour or two until the meat is tender and it falls off the bones. The herb packet.

2. Now, for your own preference you can add in some chinese vegies into the soup – I had some carrots & potatoes with me so I chopped them up and throw them in along with some left over spring onion. It’s not really authentic to add carrots and potatoes but I find the sweetness of carrots & potatoes compliments the soup 🙂 and if you’re into dipping like me have your soya sauce and sambal sauce ready too…

3. Serve this with steamed rice and it’s delicious & simple!

Ingredients

Ingredients

Leave a comment