Day 11 – Jamie’s Cook Book Challenge – Summertime Tagliarini

Published August 28, 2010 by Mary Jane

Anyways, I have a feeling that I won’t be able to cook and bake as much now that I’ve started temping for a recruitment company but shall see how it goes. Anyways, came across this interesting pasta dish what caught my attention was the use of pine nuts and pecorino cheese both ingredients which I’ve never used in my pasta before. So it’s kinda exciting working with new ingredients. Now this dish is a vegetarian dish, there’s absolutely no meat or seafood just cheese and pine nuts, so I cheated a little and chucked in some pan fried squid 🙂

Ingredients

Ingredients

Now the recipe requires you to smash up half of the pinenuts into a paste – so my magic stick master food processor came in handy and then you need to heat up in the pan with some parsley, lemon juice & zest and add in parmesan and pecorino. Now, I must admit I didn’t really stick to the exact measurement of the cheese – I just kind of estimate it which probably wasn’t a good idea, I ended up using more pecorino cheese which has a stronger taste compared to other cheese than parmesan cheese. So you’re suppose to cook it so that it becomes a reasonable thick sauce, mine started to look that way and in the mean time cook your tagliarini and then chuck the cooked tagliarini into your sauce. I think due to the ratio of my cheese, the mixture started to look a little claggy, thick and I went back to the recipe book and it says if it gets a little thick add a little more water it’s meant to look silky fresh and fragrant. Then I moved on to scoring my squid and lightly flour them and seasoned with some salt & pepper and pan fried them quickly and add a squeeze some lemon juice.

Overall, the dish is quite tasty, but I think I should have used less of pecorino cheese as it was a little overpowering, still – it was yummy and it went really well with the delicious squid – I’m glad I’ve added some squid otherwise the whole dish would just taste cheesy…Also with the recipe name Summertime Tagliarini – it’s meant to be for summertime I guess and not winter time hehehehe I love the texture of the pinenuts it just gives the dish a little bit more of the kick..and um I must admit, I couldn’t find tagliarini so I substitute it with some linguini too!

Summertime Tagliarini

Summertime Tagliarini

Cook book challenge success? Yes!

Leave a Reply

