Comfort Food Recipe – Blue Swimmer Crab Fried Rice

Published August 18, 2010 by Mary Jane

Evening bloggy friends, hope this post finds you all well. Pandabear had a day off work today so for some reason, when he’s around I don’t really feel that productive. I woke up late this morning and because there’s no gym or swimming activities happening this week I was feeling very demotivated. By about afternoon time, I made myself a banana smoothie out of my stickmaster πŸ™‚ pretty happy and then late afternoon brave the cold cold wind and went out to QV and Chinese store to buy some ingredients both for cooking and baking…it was so heavy carting groceries without my bluey trolley, I took my trust backpack and it was good carrying my groceries – but it was so heavy – poor Pandabear he’s sick so couldn’t go out to help me 😦 then I was silly enough to want to do Jamie’s Cook Book Challenge at night baking a cake!! I know I’m mad…and I didn’t have the right equipment as well so had to improvise it was a disaster – I will update on the next post…

Well, this particular recipe – I kind of made it up hehehe Alot of times I like to experiment, as most of you know I’m a freelance cook, I don’t usually follow recipes for my cooking. So we went to Victoria Market and I spotted these nice blue swimmer crabs, so I bought 2 of them. To be honest back home in Perth I never buy crabs, I hate the thought of chopping them up – as most of you guys know I have creature phobia – ie fish, cray fish, lobster, crabs etc. Anything that has eyes that stare at you when you try to chop them up, I struggle with it. So I thought surely chopping up crabs is an easy thing to do since they are dead. I was wrong, the eyes keep staring at me..but eventually I did it quickly!!

Blue Swimmer Crab Fried Rice

Ingredients

2 x blue swimmer crabs
minced garlic
2 x eggs
some red chillies
2 tablespoon of soya sauce
some basil
handful of garlic
steamed rice
parsley for garnish

Instructions

1. chop up the blue swimmer crabs and make sure you take the full shell out and bash the legs (it’s so cruel :-() so it’s easier to get the meat out. Add oil to the pan, chuck in minced garlic and sliced red chillies and throw in the crabs. Stir fry it until the blue swimmer crabs starts to turn orange. Then add 1 tablespoon of soya sauce and continue pan fry for a few minutes.

2. Dish out the crabs, leaving juices behind – throw in steamed rice (it’s best to use over night rice) and beat the eggs and pour in the eggs and stir fry it together, add 1 tablespoon of soya sauce and once the fried rice is done, throw back in the crabs and toss it with some basil and it’s ready to serve onto the plate. Garnish with some parsley and there you have it a delicious blue swimmer crab fried rice. πŸ™‚

Blue Swimmer Crabs

Blue Swimmer Crabs

Blue Swimmer Crabs Fried Rice

Blue Swimmer Crabs Fried Rice

Close up

Close up

Leave a Reply

