Day 8 – Jamie’s Cook Book Challenge – Fifteen Christmas Salad

Published August 17, 2010 by Mary Jane

Now, due to me not feeling too great – today I gave myself a break from the Cook Book Challenge, but not to worry I made two dishes yesterday so that shall do the trick! When I read this recipe I was like mmm…mixing something sweet like Clementines to something salty smoked prosciutto…to be honest, I wasn’t looking forward to it. I’ve never liked my savoury food to incorporate sweet things. Eg, Hawaiian pizza, with pineapples into the pizza – I hate it but Pandabear loves it! So here it goes…

Ingredients

Ingredients

Fifteen Christmas Salad

Fifteen Christmas Salad

Then I realised I forgot about the balsamic vinegar…here it is…

Honestly the dish tasted really nice it has a nice balance between the sweetness of the orange – sorry I didn’t get clementines it looks like oranges to me, the bitter taste of rocket, saltiness from the smoked prosciutto and the creaminess of mozzarella cheese and a touch of sourness from the balsamic vinegar. But overall, it’s not a dish that I would commonly eat simply because I still can’t have something sweet in my savoury dish…sorry Jamie…

Cook book challenge success? Yes…

Leave a Reply

