Comfort Food Recipe – Fish Coconut Curry with loads of vegies

Published August 17, 2010 by Mary Jane

Evening bloggy friends, well – today I dragged myself out of bed and make my way to the the swimming pool I figured it’s probably better to swim in the morning than afternoon. Why? Afternoon, there tend to be more people in the pool and I’m actually quite conscious of myself and I get really uncomfortable sharing the spa with this random guy. So I made a wise decision to swim in the morning cos when I got home I was so tired…where did this tiredness come from and took a nap and woke up. Hello..its the time of the month…no!! Thank goodness I went swimming in the morning. 🙂 that was a close call.

So I made this fish coconut curry with loads of vegies last night it is totally packed with vegies. I know Pandabear can’t take spicy food, but I figured it’s time to train him slowly to adjust his pallet to spicy food. Cos, I’m sick of not being able to eat spicy food and making mild food all the time. So here it is…

Fish Coconut Curry with loads of vegies

Ingredients

1 large piece of mackerel (you can use any type of fish)
1 cup of coconut milk
2-3 large table spoon of Malaysian curry powder
a handful of string beans
1 whole onion
1/2 cabbage
1-2 carrots
1 tomato
small handful of basil
minced garlic

Instructions

1. chop up all the vegies – carrots, cabbage, tomato, onion and string beans. Heat up the pan with some oil and add in minced garlic. Stir fry the vegies and add in the curry powder – I’ve recently bought this Malaysian Ayam curry powder from an Asian grocery store and it’s yummy 🙂 keep stir frying it for a few more minutes add in coconut milk. Depending on how thick you like your curry stew, I would also add a cup of water and bring it to boil and then simmer for about 15 minutes until all vegies are cooked. (just a tip you may want to leave the string beans last as they cook a lot faster than other vegies)

2. Chop up the mackerel into quarters and throw them into the curry pot. Mackerel and fish items cooked really fast, so when the fish starts to turn pale then, it’s ready. Throw in some basil to add additional flavour. Serve it with some hot steam rice 🙂

Here it is…

fish curry in the pot

fish curry in the pot

You may have notice why there’s some rosemary and straw fries on top, cos I throw them in from Jamie’s cook book challenge just to give that extra texture – I know I’m mad!! But it tastes delicious, even though it was a bit spicy. Pandabear went for seconds 🙂

Leave a Reply

