Day 7 – Jamie’s Cook Book Challenge – April’s rosemary straw potatoes with lemon salt

Published August 16, 2010 by Mary Jane

Okies, even though my feet are in pain – it didn’t stop me from conquering Jamie’s cook book challenge. Anyways, when I came across this recipe – I was really excited – one I love potatoes and two I love the herb rosemary. I’ve never knew how to make lemon salt – so that’s another new thing for me…here it is…

Ingredients

Ingredients

and then it was the fun of making lemon salt – I didn’t have the flavour shaker or pestle and mortar – so I had to improvise just use my spoon and crushed the lemon zest and salt so that it’s flavoured, coloured and fine. Then the next step is to slice up the potatoes into matchstick size.

Then it’s time to deep fry the matchstick size potatoes..that was fun, and wait Jamie said make sure you remove the pieces of potato before you begin and pat the potato matchsticks with some kitchen paper to remove an excess starch. That was useful information.

and then it’s time to fry those yummy rosemary…

Now it is soaking these goodies onto the paper towel…

and it’s plate up time, don’t forget to dust it with the lemon salt – and it’s delicious! Even the rosemary is crispy too 🙂

close up of rosemary straw potatoes

close up of rosemary straw potatoes

Leave a Reply

