Restaurant Review – Old Town Kopitiam Mamak (Melbourne)

Published August 14, 2010 by Mary Jane

Evening bloggy friends, I have finally finished all my Perth restaurant review postings yay πŸ™‚ It’s time to move on to Melbourne…city where there’s endless eating and great varieties. It’s a place where foodies are in love with food…anyways, a friend of ours recommended this Malaysian hawker style restaurant at QV. I liked the name it’s so cute it literally means Old Town Coffee Shop Authentic Malaysian Cuisine.

Now you know when a Malaysian Restaurant is good when it’s packed with Malaysians, the moment we walked into the restaurant it was fully packed with Asians and most of them I assume are Malaysians πŸ™‚

And also their menu has great varieties of dishes, it makes it hard for one to make up their mind – most of the dishes comes with a picture which is great so you can see what the dishes look like..and the drink list is also comprehensive as well..

We were seated down by a nice friendly waiter who handed us the menu so I had some questions for him – I felt like a nice bowl of spicy laksa as I had a blocked nose and was hoping the strong laksa soup would clear my nose. There were two types of laksa a normal curry laksa and Old Town Kopitiam’s Lemak Laksa. So I asked what is the difference? Well, the main difference is that the Lemak Laksa is not too spicy still got a bit of kick and it’s cooked with mackerel. I asked him which one would he recommend and he replied without hesitation the Lemak Laksa. Well, I’ll have a bowl of lemak Laksa and Pandabear with his Malaysian tummy went straight for the Roti Canai and he was feeling rather hungry so he had 2 servings of it πŸ™‚

Lemak Laksa

Lemak Laksa

Roti Canai

Roti Canai

and for drinks, Pandabear went straight for the sugar cane and I saw a picture of 3 Teh C so feeling curious so I asked the waiter what was in the 3 TEh C? He replied it’s a milk tea containing 3 different layers – one layer of palm sugar, one layer of condensed milk and one layer of tea. Wow sounds fascinating. So I decided to go for a 3 Teh C.

3 Teh C and Sugar Cane

3 Teh C and Sugar Cane

The laksa was amazing – I loved the mackerel – well cooked and nicely flavoured, I’ve never had a real proper laksa that you could see lots of herbs such as curry leaves and spices. Wow, the flavour was so amazing that my blocked nose could really taste every bits of it πŸ™‚ as for Roti Canai, I asked Pandaber whether it was authentic Roti Canai – he went definitely! Common, we saw an Indian chef making the roti canai – it’s got to be authentic hehehehe

The food waiting time was great, we received our meal within 10-15 minutes even though the place was packed, the waiters were really friendly and nice – so a big thumb up for the customer service side. All dishes were quite reasonably priced and I would definitely return to try out other dishes…

Here’s my rating:

Dining experience: 4 star
Food experience: 4 star
Would I recommend it? Absolutely

Leave a Reply

