Day 5 – Jamie’s Cook Book Challenge – Beetroot Salad with Feta cheese

Published August 14, 2010 by Mary Jane

Anyways, as I have promised since yesterday I didn’t make any of Jamie’s cook book recipes, I decided today I will make 2 dishes to make up for it :-). Beetroot – I love beetroot, I have never eaten it raw before only the ones straight out from the tin can. They are full of vinegar and the beetroot is very soft, not much of a texture. I would occasionally put some into my salad and it will make the whole salad red in colour. Anyways, so when I come across reading this recipe I was like what?? Whole salad made out of beetroot and raw beetroot too!!! Wow, that’s going to be a challenge, I can imagine eating raw beetroot.

So here it is…

Ingredients

Ingredients

sliced up ingredients

sliced up ingredients

Now Jamie did warn, these red beetroot is going to stain your hands and make sure you wear an apron…I didn’t have any aprons so I braved it with Pandaber’s red jumper hehehehe and instead of slicing up pears I substitute it with apple cos I didn’t have pear.

Jamie's beetroot salads

Jamie's beetroot salads

close up of beetroot salad

close up of beetroot salad

The beetroot salad with feta cheese taste amazing!! I was thinking the raw beetroot is going to taste bitter, but it didn’t quite earthy, crunchy and refreshing and it balanced so well with the feta cheese 🙂 I made quite a bit and packed it into my container for later days 🙂

beetroot salad packed into the container

beetroot salad packed into the container

Cook book challenge success? Yes!

Leave a Reply

