Victoria Market here I come…

Published August 13, 2010 by Mary Jane

Well, today Pandabear has got a day off – so I was excited since it’s the day I could go to the markets and buy these fresh produce and I get to cart my bluey da trolley as well. I need someone like Pandabear to look after Bluey while I go crazy at looking at different produce. Anyways, Victoria Market is a huge market in Melbourne – they sell absolutely everything, and you will find there’s quite a few similar stores that sells exactly the same thing which kind of makes it hard for me. But this is my second time visit since I’ve moved to Melbourne and I’ve started to get the hang of noticing which fruit & vegie shops are my favourite.

In particular, I love this Asian fruit and vegie store – it’s an elderly man with a little beanie and they all speak Cantonese. What amazes me is they don’t use the till or calculators everything is by mental maths. I said to the guy wow – I’m impressed you guys could calculate this all on your head and the guy laughed and replied yeah my brain is my computer hahahaha. I proceed to search for my list of herbs that I need for my Jamie’s cook book challenge and there’s just so many herbs that I’ve never seen or used in my whole life. So I had to ask the guy each time um..do you sell Marjoram? Do you sell Tarragon? I just have to trust the guy is giving me the right stuff đŸ™‚

Also, there’s lots of meat, cheese, seafood stores – honestly the whole streets worth of them – I couldn’t be bothered comparing with different stores, I came to this Jim’s deli place – it’s like they are Italian for some cheese and prosciutto and once again he surprised me with his mental maths skill. My last stop was at the seafood place, seems to run by the Vietnamese and the lady this time use her till to calculate the items and hand over the seafood to me without a plastic bag – she did say that sorry no plastic bag our store only recently started? Huh?? So I left my seafood on top hoping it wouldn’t soak through the rest of my herbs.

Anyways, I spent an hour buying fresh produce and things and before I know it my blue trolley was all filled up and it was time to head home. One of my wheels started to look a little lop sided, I hope this trolley will last for at least 6 months…

Here are some of the ingredients I bought – they are all very fresh indeed and huge in size compared to the ones you get from supermarket – I still believe buying items from markets is a cheaper option, but I think Pandabear disagrees with me as I tend to get just a little carried away with purchasing!!

mini beetroot

mini beetroot

Spanish Mackerel

Spanish Mackerel

banana prawns

banana prawns

Blue swimmer crabs

Blue swimmer crabs

fetta cheese

fetta cheese

goats cheese

goats cheese

Mozzarela cheese

Mozzarela cheese

Almond flakes

Almond flakes

pistachio nuts

pistachio nuts

Okies, then I went crazy with buying all sorts of herbs…can you guess what some of these are??

So it was a productive day, but I ran out of time doing a Jamie’s cook book challenge – I’ll make it up tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

