Restaurant Review – Red Cray (Perth)

Published August 10, 2010 by Mary Jane

Evening bloggy friends, I had a great day today – managed to hit the gym again (day 2) even though my leg muscles were really sore 😦 and again, I see skinny girls going on treadmills and doing weights?? Why are there no fatty girls like me in the gym?? It’s depressing, but today Pandabear had a day off from work so he joined me so it made me a little more motivated.

Anyways, this particular restaurant Pandabear and I always drove past it along canning hwy. We were really curious as it had a large flashy Red Crayfish as a sign, so it’s definitely a seafood restaurant. We’ve been so disappointed with seafood restaurants in Perth, they don’t really live up to their standards and after dining seafood in New York, everything in Perth taste crappy!! So one day Pandabear googled the place and found out it was actually owned by one of his high school friends who he haven’t seen for like 10 years. So it was time to pay this restaurant a visit!

We went to the restaurant on a Monday night with two friends and when we got there it was actually quite packed – for a Monday night, surely the food is got to be good. Then the Manager walked passed us and saw Pandabear and was like wo! Is this you…so and so…and Pandabear is like yeah and are you so and so and there you go both made their friendly handshake – high school reunion in the restaurant. For entree we decided to share some calamari and a tasting plate to share…

Calamari

Calamari

tasting plate

tasting plate

Well, the calamari was fantastic! Lightly crumbed, well seasoned, the squid was deep fried to perfection – tender and juicy rather than rubbery and chewy and the mayo that goes with it they both just melt into your mouth. There were 4 of us to share and I wanted more and more! Fortunately, our tasting plate arrived. Interesting looking dish I must say. It’s more like a tasting plate for 2 so everything comes in twos but that’s ok we can all share. So the lamb cutlets – have I ever told you guys I hate lamb! I hate the smell of it and the taste of it. So I wasn’t too keen on the lamb cutlets, I gave it a try and it actually tasted pretty good – ‘none of those strong lamby taste’. Then there were crumbed prawn cutlets – mmm..they are really tasty – I need to eat a whole one to feel satisfied. Then there was this triangular looking deep fried item – I can’t remember what they were exact but they were gorgeous too! Then the salmon perfectly cooked. I’m very happy with our entree 🙂

Then it was time for mains…I spotted the seafood platter – execute one which comes with a full red crayfish and other seafood and served two..mmm… yum yum and our friend spotted a sign that says pasta night special on Mondays too, so we ordered our seafood platter along with 2 pasta dishes – Linguini Diablo – chicken, chilli, garlic, spinach in a creamy parmesan sauce and spaghetti tuscana – chicken, grape tomatoes, spinach, garlic tossed in olive oil. Now we asked the waiter whether this was enough and he said it’s plenty for 4. So before the main arrives, the waiters gave us these strawberry smelling little red cray napkin – how thoughtful for our seafood platter and they are strawberry scented too!!

strawberry scented napkin

strawberry scented napkin

executive seafood platter

executive seafood platter

when our executive seafood platter for 2 arrives, I was shocked it was HUGE!! All this for 2 people?? I was starting to wonder whether Pandabear’s friend gave us extra serves of seafood, anyways can’t complain – all the produce looks fresh and tantalizing…I was salivating already – it kind of reminds me of dining at fish monger where we received a HUGE seafood platter but the seafood was not fresh and over cooked. So we started digging into the seafood platter – there were fish, home made chips, scallops, oysters, prawns, squid, huge red crayfish and other stuff that I couldn’t remember – and it was served with a generous serving of tar tare sauce and can I just say it was one of the best seafood platter I’ve ever tasted – fresh, generous, and tasty in flavour. Then our pastas arrived…

Linguini Diablo

Linguini Diablo

Spaguetti Tuscana

Spaguetti Tuscana

After a wow factor from the executive seafood platter, our pastas have both arrived – the presentation was nice. The taste was quite good, look if I have to be honest it’s not the best pasta I’ve ever had and certainly wasn’t better than Ciao Italia’s but all the flavours were there and it was cheap $12 per pasta! So we really can’t complain…

Now, I was eying out for their desserts – even though we were really full already, there’s always a separate stomach for desserts! So our two friends shared some gelati icecream and Pandabear went for the mango sorbet and I went for the sticky date pudding – I know how could I even fit such thing into my stomach…but I just love sticky date puddings.

2 scoops of gelati

2 scoops of gelati

A scoop of mango sorbet

A scoop of mango sorbet

Sticky date pudding with icecream

Sticky date pudding with icecream

Now the gelati and sorbet arrived first and I was patiently waiting for my sticky date pudding, when it arrived – I was in love – such a generous serving of sticky date pudding and it comes with cream and a large scoop of icecream. I was feeling stoked and could feel everyone staring at my dessert so I went “please feel free to try some I won’t be able to finish it!” Anyways, Pandabear proceed to dig into my dessert and wow the sticky date pudding was warm, moist, tasty and it goes great with that large scoop of icecream. I was so happy with our mains and dessert.

Overall, the service from the waiters/waitress were fantastic they had big smiles and really friendly too. Our food waiting time was good, we didn’t wait long and man the food was fantastic! No wonder it was voted the best seafood restaurant in Perth 2010. When Pandabear went off to grab the bill, he came back and whispered to me “he gave me a 10% discount too!” That’s so cool for a high school friend who haven’t seen you for 10 years!!!

Here’s my rating:

Food experience: 4.5 star
Dining experience: 4.5 star
Would I recommend? Definitely a YES!

Leave a Reply

