Day 1 – Jamie’s Cook book Challenge – Salads

Published August 9, 2010 by Mary Jane

Evening bloggy friends, hope this blog finds you all well. Anyways, I had a really productive day. Pandabear went off to work early in the morning for an orientation, so I forced myself out of bed around 9.30am which is a record time cos I’ve been sleeping in nearly all of last week. Anyways, email & facebook in the morning and then hitting the gym for an hour then came home and started the first day of my cook book challenge. I love Jamie Oliver, he’s such an inspirational chef and when I opened his cook book it turned my attention to salad dressing – up you’ve heard it salad dressing which is such a coincidence cos I’m sort of trying to shed some pounds and making salad dressing would be great 🙂

Anyways, his tips of washing vegies – I bought myself some cos lettuce, tomatoes, carrots, avocados and cucumbers. So following his tip of washing vegies and storing them in the fridge. I started washing the cos lettuce in the sink:

cos lettuce in the sink

cos lettuce in the sink

Now, to store the vegies Jamie recommended keeping your leaves in the fridge or in a bowl under a damp cloth until you use them. I didn’t have a damp cloth so I substituted with a damp paper towel.

my cos lettuce leaves & tomato in the fridge

my cos lettuce leaves & tomato in the fridge

Now, I started observing some different salad dressings recipes – they seemed pretty easy enough, main ingredients are extra virgin olive oil and some acidity ingredients such as lemon/orange and spices such as cloves/oregano/star anise. So I ended up making 4 tubs of salad dressings which would last me for weeks 🙂 first salad dressing was a lemon oil dressing…

ingredients for lemon oil dressing

ingredients for lemon oil dressing

It was easy, mixing all the ingredients together, Jamie said to grab some jam jars – I couldn’t find suitable jam jars and the containers I found are quite expensive so abit of substitution is using plastic round tub containers and after placing a lid on, I madly shake the container so that the oil and lemon juice will emulsify 🙂

Lemon oil dressing

Lemon oil dressing

I had a little taste and added more salt/pepper to balance the dressing out – it was delicious and very simple.

Next dressing was balsamic vinegar dressing…

ingredients for balsamic vinegar dressing

ingredients for balsamic vinegar dressing

This dressing is just as easy, mix both balsamic vinegar and extra virgin olive oil together and I balanced it out with some salt/pepper. Delicious!

Balsamic vinegar dressing

Balsamic vinegar dressing

Next is Sicilian dressing which has more ingredients – acidity such as lemon juice and orange juice, spice – dried oregano and extra virgin olive oil…

ingredients for Sicilian dressing

ingredients for Sicilian dressing

and mix them altogether, you get Sicilian dressing a little sweeter than lemon oil dressing as it’s got the orange juice and a bit of kick with the spice of dried oregano 🙂

Sicilian dressing

Sicilian dressing

and last dressing I made is spiced vinegar dressing which is quite interesting I pour some white wine vinegar into a pot and chucked in some cloves and star anise and boil it until it reduced to 1/2 and wait for it to cool down and add extra virgin olive oil and balance it out with salt/pepper. The aroma of star anise and cloves were fantastic!

Ingredients for Spiced Vinegar Dressing

Ingredients for Spiced Vinegar Dressing

and the final product…

Spiced vinegar dressing

Spiced vinegar dressing

Anyways, after I’ve finished all the salad dressings – I’ve labelled them all and put them into the fridge – wow here’s my months supply of salad dressings!! Why would I even consider the bottled of salad dressings from the supermarket. These salad dressings from Jamie’s cook book are brilliant….no more bottled salad dressings for me!

my lovely dressings in the fridge

my lovely dressings in the fridge

now time to make myself a wholesome salad using one of my salad dressings – I choose lemon oil dressing… and the left over orange juice and lemon juice – I made them into a cup of tangy juice so that nothing goes to waste 🙂

My wholesome salad

My wholesome salad

for dinner, I showed Pandabear all my salad dressings and also made a plate of meat balls spaguetti accompanied by a nice bowl of salad – for dressing I used the balsamic dressing and it was delicious!

my dinner

my dinner

Cook book challenge success? Absolutely!!

Leave a Reply

