Restaurant Review – Sassella’s Tavern (Perth)

Published August 4, 2010 by Mary Jane

Evening Bloggy friends, this week has been a fiasco of eating out and I ain’t complaining. We are still staying in our hotels this week and should hopefully move into our apartment by this Sunday so I can resume to home cooking and baking. So this week, we’ll stick to eating out everyday it’s my break from cooking 🙂 I’m going to finish off with my restaurant reviews in Perth soon and move onto Melbourne – a city where there’s great restaurants great for your tummy but bad for your waist line.

Anyways, this particular restaurant we went for our work team lunch. When we first arrived it was packed with people!! Such a busy restaurant. I’ve always enjoyed going to Taverns, as my recollection of uni days taverns serves big tasty pies and wedges and at a reasonable cost too 🙂 We booked a table and you get to order at the counter and pay for it. They have a kitchen counter to order food and a bar for ordering drinks.

I decided to go for the chicken burger with a sour dough bun served with french fries, my colleagues had some cocktails, grilled burramundi served with salad and fries, steak sandwiches served with fries, stir fried chicken and vegies, chilli pepper squid served with salad and steak. We were given a ticket that shows how long our meal will take. Mine says 10 minutes. I was really curious about whether my food will be ready when I go to the counter to collect, so after 10 minutes, I made my way to the counter and there it is ready for my collection – I was very impressed.

Cocktail

Cocktail

chicken burger with french fries

chicken burger with french fries

burramundi served with fries and salad

burramundi served with fries and salad

Steak Sandwich with fries

Steak Sandwich with fries

Stir fried chicken with vegies

Stir fried chicken with vegies

Steak

Steak

Chilli pepper squid with salad

Chilli pepper squid with salad

Water is self service you go and grab the glasses and fill them up. There are also complimentary bread rolls which you can help yourselves to which I thought was a pretty nice touch. All the sauces are available as well. Our food is pretty great, it’s huge in serves, tasty and well what you expect for a tavern food standard. The food waiting time was good and the waitresses who came to clear our dishes were pretty friendly. 🙂

Here’s my rating:

Dining experience: 3.5 star
Food experience: 4 star
Would I recommend it? YES – it’s great for a casual dining restaurant, the food is not excellent but it’s tasty and reasonably priced.

Leave a Reply

