Good Food and Wine Festival 2010

Published August 3, 2010 by Mary Jane

Evening bloggy friends, well I thought I’ll write a post on the Good Food and Wine Festival cos I’ve been to it twice now and the two times I’ve went I’ve always enjoyed it. This year in particular I went with my mates Audrey, Shirlyn, Audrey’s sister Michelle and My mummy. (Yes, I’ve decided to stop using Miss A or Miss S – it’s time to move on with the real names) 🙂 Anyways, this year we decided we’ll go to the Matt Moran’s show as last year we went to Toby’s show. Unfortunately, Michelle has since moved office so we don’t get free parking this year. We arrived at the Perth convention centre, and there was already a long queue of people (yes, nothing special ever happens in Perth so this food & wine festival was bound to be a big hit!) Sorry about the dark photos – my camera died on me and had to rely upon my iphone for all the photos…

Our book guide & show tickets

Our book guide & show tickets

Audrey bought a pink shopping trolley last year and we decided this year to carry this pink trolley again, but some how it didn’t last very long the wheels keeps coming off!! We paid for a wine glass last year but this year, we’ve decided to skip the wine tasting all of us are foodies and not really into much wine. So first up we saw a candy shop that sell lots of sweets…mmm….lollies, fortunately I’m not really a sweet tooth, I’m more of a savoury person it was good for my eyes but not good for my tummy.

The best thing about this Food and Wine Festival is that you get to check out each booth and taste test or sample the goodies. We even get to sniff on what a truffle would smell like. I was hoping they would carve some of those truffle but they didn’t!! Still it smelt good, kinda like an earthy mushroom.

The Awesome Truffle

The Awesome Truffle

Then it was tasting of jams, dips, sauces and mustard. It goes really well with crackers 🙂

Just when we were excited about trying out different food items, a friendly girl came up to us and said “you girls want a free ticket to see Manu’s show?” “free tickets – we screamed yes, we’ll love to!!” I love freebies and I like Manu as well. So we rushed to enter the show to see Manu. It wasn’t really packed, maybe that’s why they were giving out free tickets – nevermind – who cares, we scored free tickets!! The show was fantastic, Manu and his sense of humor, some jokes I admit are adults only but still he’s such a funny and entertaining guy. He even did some clown tricks – apparently he used to be a clown?? I didn’t know that. Here are some of his clown tricks…

He made 2 courses, a sausage dish which I can’t remember the exact name and I think an apple tart tatin – you know me unless I write it done, my fish memory isn’t going to remember it. It looked delicious!!

The white sausage with blanched spinach

The white sausage with blanched spinach

Apple Tart Tatin

Apple Tart Tatin

It was lunch time, they had 4 different booths selling celebrity chef’s food. So we went and bought our food tokens for our lunch. We decided to try out George Calombaris’s entree and main. Entree was Squid with chickpeas salad and mains was Braised chicken and celery fricassee – the only reason why I remembered this was cos I took a picture of the booth and it had it’s menu names on it 🙂

Squid & chickpea salad

Squid & chickpea salad

Braised chicken and celery fricassee

Braised chicken and celery fricassee

Both dishes were quite tasty and it came with some wine, but can I say they were really stingy on the serving size. It’s so small that didn’t even touch a bit of my tummy 😦 plus it ain’t cheap either, I felt a little bit ripped off!! I rather have a larger serve and skipped the wine. Anyways Audrey & Michelle both went for the lamb minced pie – can’t remember which celebrity chef made it and they said it was quite nice – once again they were a little stingy on the serving size.

Lamb minced pie

Lamb minced pie

Audrey and Michelle also bought some dessert tokens and guess what? The lady accidentally gave them an extra token for the dessert so Mum and I scored a free desert! Yay another freebie 🙂 Mum and I decided to try out the chocolate tart with salty caramel – it was delicious the creaminess of the chocolates melts in your mouth and the salty caramel gave that extra texture, once again disappointed with the serving size though. Audrey went for the poached pear and Michelle went for the panacotta. Well, poached pear was nothing special just a poached pear but the panacotta was fantastic, smooth, silky and tasty – it even passed our wobbly test – when we tapped it with our dessert spoon it wobbled!! But honestly, I don’t think next year I would try out the dishes – it’s expensive and not economical – I might bring my lunch next year. I wonder what happened to the Bratwurst booth? We had that last year it was so tasty and cheap I bet they got rid of it cos it had too many people queuing up for them instead of going to the celebrity chef booths!

chocolate tart with salty caramel

chocolate tart with salty caramel

poached pears

poached pears

Panacotta

Panacotta

Then it was time for Matt Moran’s show, so off we went and the whole place was packed. Matt started off by showing us a large whole Lamb carcass – I hate lambs and he started cutting them up and asking for people to come up to the stage to grab free pieces of cuts from the lamb. Audrey asked me whether I could raise my hands and go up the stage to grab the lamb chops – I was like “eeww….the meat is going to go off cos we’ll be here the whole afternoon” Thank goodness, I didn’t go up the stage, Matt Moran was so rude he actually asked if there were any vegetarians around and one raised her hand and went up the stage to be only humiliated by Matt he simply said in her face ” I hate vegetarians and since you guys got nothing better to do, have a bottle of wine” I can’t remember the exact word, but I was appalled by his rudeness and a couple of times he even swore!!! I don’t think I’ll ever attend his show again 😦 here’s some of the pictures of rude Matt..

To his credit he and his sou chef made some lamb dish and a dessert – by now I have lost my attention span thinking how rude and arrogant this Matt guy is – grrr….

Anyways, after feeling rather disappointed with Matt’s show it was time to move on for Audrey to get her autography from Gary & George she bought a Masterchef cook book and was waiting patiently in line for Gary & George’s signatures. They were both nice guys and even had a short brief conversation with Audrey. We started madly taking photos of them. It was great fun 🙂

To top things off, we came across some tasty cheese balls – they are really yummy fresh out of the oven and followed by a visit to the Little Miss Cupcake place where there’s lots of nice looking cupcakes…

cheese ball

cheese ball

Little Miss Cupcakes

Little Miss Cupcakes

Then there were some yummy icecreams…gold coin donation to have one…

It was time to head home and divide the goodies we have bought…here’s our collection of food goodies…we had great fun same time next year – next time we’re bringing our own lunch or grabbing some takeaways though..

Leave a Reply

