Falafel Town – Canada

Published July 1, 2010 by Mary Jane

Well, I wouldn’t call this post a restaurant review. It’s not really a restaurant more like a take away shop with some dining tables available. I’ve never had falafels before so I was excited when I came across it midnight when we arrived at the comfort inn. It had a bright green sign saying best falafels in town. So I was keen to try it out. When we arrived there for lunch there was basically no one, but then again it was a weekday and we were abit early.

I said to the owner which wrap will you recommend and he’s like ofcourse the “Falafel wrap” and I asked him what is falafel? He said basically it’s cooked chick peas and then they dip fry them into balls. I was like is it tasty cos it’s kinda vegetarian and I’m more like a meat person. His reply was ” it’s much better than our meat wraps and it will certainly fill you up, rich in vitamins. It didn’t take much to convince me so I decided to be adventurous and went for the falafel wrap and Pandabear went for the safe option chicken pita wrap. You get to select which salad you would like to have inside the wrap.

Chicken Pita Wrap

Chicken Pita Wrap

Falafel Wrap

Falafel Wrap

Well, I must admit my falafel wrap was pretty tasty – it’s kinda grainy but full of flavours the only thing was it was too much in my wraps – after a few mouthfuls you start to get a little sick of the taste and I was eying for Pandabear’s chicken pita wrap so he gave me a bite into his wrap – yum yum – I’m a meat person so the falafel was too vegetarian for me. Also after few hours later, I was feeling really bloated. So I guess in future try out falafel but don’t have the whole wrap as there’s just too much chick peas. šŸ™‚ The owner was pretty friendly, there was a TV there for people to watch and he asked us whether we like Bruce Lee, we’re ok with Bruce Lee so he switched the channel to watch Bruce Lee.

Leave a Reply

