Restaurant Review – Araxi (Whistler)

Published June 28, 2010 by Mary Jane

Well, hope everyone had an exciting weekend. I didn’t get up to too much as I was still recovering from this nasty cold. but I had a fruitful Saturday where I went with my mate to Ikea to purchase toddler class plastic tables & stools. They were so cute, and had some fun assembling them together. I’m not really good with assembling furnitures, but these ones were pretty easy so I managed. Sunday, finally we cleaned out the library in our church 🙂

Well, this particular restaurant was recommended by Panda bear’s boss – it’s a fine dining restaurant and we were really excited to try it out. Upon arrival at the restaurant we see a large sign displaying Araxi, when we enter the restaurant – it was lightly lit, the waitress offered to take our jackets and she appeared very friendly.

We decided to order some non alcoholic beverages, Pandabear decided to have Kiwi honeybee – consists of saffron infused honey, lemon, kiwi and ginger beer and I went for the Symphony – consists of ginger, lemon chamomile tea, elderflower cordial and cucumber. The drinks were delicious 🙂 We felt like going for seconds, infact Pandabear went for seconds.

Kiwi Honeybee

Kiwi Honeybee

Symphony

Symphony

For entree we decided to share a chilled lobster salad – which consists of Nova Scotia Lobster with avocado and cilantro toasted Israeli cous cous with lemon and yuzu dressing. When it arrived the presentation was fantastic – except I thought the serving was a little on the small side. But I guess they wouldn’t serve large servings of lobster for people. Still, it was pricy so I expect a bigger portion 🙂 The lobster was well cooked, tender and fresh and usually we are not into cous cous but these toasted Israeli cous cous were gorgeous and very flavoursome.

Chilled Lobster Salad

Chilled Lobster Salad

As for mains, Pandabear decided to have Canadian prime rib eye and I had Fraser Valley Free Run Chicken. We thought we’ll try their house cut truffle fries. I’ve never had truffle before so we thought let’s give the truffle fries a try 🙂 when our meals arrived, the prime rib eye were juicy with generous amount of sauce and served on a bed of green beans and some carrots. As for my meal my chicken tendaloins were wrapped with proscuitto, sage and spinach, it was on a bed of wild mushroom risotto served on top some slow cooked petit gris snails and fried basil. I’m not a snail person, I’ve only had snails a couple of times. When the dish came I saw lots of these grey looking snails on top of my chicken. I flicked them off and started my chicken first – it was juicy and tender nicely balanced with the generous amount of sauce. As for snails – well, they were little chewy for my liking so I didn’t finished all the snails. As for truffle fries, well they tasted quite salty and had lots of parmesan cheese on top of it..

Canadian Prime Rib Eye

Canadian Prime Rib Eye

Fraser Valley Free Run Chicken

Fraser Valley Free Run Chicken

House cut truffle fries

House cut truffle fries

And since we had some room for a dessert, Pandabear and I decided to share a dessert together. We went for the Vairhona chocolate fondant – chocolate dentelle and dulce de leche triple chocolate stracciatella icecream. It sounds devilish & rich but I really want to see what their fondant were like. When it arrived, the presentation was amazing – with a waffle stick lying on top of the icecream and round drips of chocolate sauces around the whole plate. Now it comes to the test of spooning into the fondant to see whether inside is full of flowing chocolate.

Valrhona Chocolate Fondant

Valrhona Chocolate Fondant

Here’s what you see, the chocolate sauce oozing out 🙂

Complimentary orange mini cakes

Complimentary orange mini cakes

Well, we were pretty happy with our dessert and when we asked for our bill they brought along our bill and a little surprise of orange mini cakes on a plate – what a sweet ending to a meal. This is rather thoughtful. Overall, we were pretty happy with food waiting time and the food experience was lovely. The service there were nice and friendly.

Here’s my rating:

Food experience: 4.5 star
Dining experience: 4.5 star
Would I recommend? Yes

Leave a Reply

