New York Adventure

Published June 22, 2010 by Mary Jane

Hello Bloggy friends, last night I got home and felt extremely tired followed by continuous sneezing. I had to force myself to pick up the pan and made myself & Pandabear a nice tasty waygu beef burger with some healthy avocado & tomato salad. I was so tired and hungry and by about Masterchef time I was exhausted lying on my bed with the TV on feeling a little miserable with my sore throat. It’s a sign that probably I caught some sort of cold. No!!! Grrr….I always get colds and I still haven’t nailed down the reasons why I get them so frequently. Hopefully I get better by this saturday in time for our final baking session πŸ™‚

Anyways, this will be my last post on New York – I will sum up all the fun things I would recommend to go to and do in New York if you get the chance to.

1. Watch an NBA game in Maddison Square

If you’re into basketball games, you should definitely check out the NBA games in Maddison Square place – it’s an awesome experience and the whole atmosphere is full of excitement.

2. Brooklyn Bridge climb/walks

We ran out of time to do the brooklyn bridge climb/walks but we managed to catch a glimpse of the bridge and it was awesome.

3. Rockefeller Centre – Tour of the Rock

We booked our tickets online to check out the tour of the rock, Soar 70 floors high and experience the exhilarating joy of unobstructed 360ΒΊ city views from the Top of the Rock Observation Deck. From the sweeping green of Central Park to the thrilling city skyline, nowhere else can you see New York so spectacularly. It was really windy at the top of the rock, but the view was amazing!!! Worth checking this place out…

4. The Ice Rink at Rockefeller Centre

The world-famous Ice Rink at Rockefeller Center has become a quintessential New York City winter experience for generations. Here you’ll find New Yorkers and visitors alike, skating amid the watchful eye of the gilded Prometheus statue and the unique urban backdrop of Rockefeller Center’s sparkling lights. It’s an amazing view where you get to see ice skaters skating around the rink. We didn’t feel like ice skating so skipped out on joining the ice skating fun and the embarassment of falling on your bottom πŸ™‚

5. Madame Tussauds Wax Museum

Pandabear and I checked out the Madame Tussauds Wax Museum which consists of wax figure of sports stars, singer, famous actors/actress, action hero characters and lots more. It was really fascinating as some of the wax figures of certain star are really a replicate image of the them. Some you could tell who it is but need a little bit more work to make it look more real & believable.

6. Fifth Avenue Shopping

If you’re into brands, check the Fifth avenue out cos there’s LV, Burberry, Hugo and lots more of brand shops are this avenue. Around the city area you will come across rows of Horse carriages which takes a short tour around the city centre. Pandabear asked me whether I would like to try the horse carriages, but somehow I couldn’t justify myself by sitting on the carriage and getting these poor horsies carrying my heavy weight plus the weight of the carriages for my own entertainment 😦 eventhough the owner of the horse carriages reassure me that these horsies could carry up to 4 carriages with no problems at all. Pandabear’s justification is that if I don’t ride on these horse carriages and pay for it, they will go hungry!!! Grrr…anyways, I didn’t feel comfortable in doing it so I piked out!!

7. FAO Schwarz

This place is a soft toy heaven, you get all sorts of soft toys, toys and gadgets in this place!!

8. Statue of Liberty Climb

The statue of liberty climb is not for the faint heart, however if you think you’re able to climb 300+ worth of steps to reach the top of the statue of liberty for it’s awesome view. It’s definitely worth doing, it not only gives you a sense of accomplishment and a reassurance that you’re not extremely unfit after all. In our case, we struggled a little towards the 1/2 way mark, but eventually we made it to the top and the feeling was fantastic!!

9. Theatre shows

I’m not really a theatre lover, so when I heard there was a Mary Poppins or Phantom of Opera I was thinking really hard whether it was worth the money. Cos it was a little on the pricy side of things. However, our concierge convinced us it was a show worth watching. So Pandabear and I decided we will booked our tickets to the Mary Poppins and it was the right decision to do cos the show was fantastic. For the whole of 3 hours, I was totally glued to the shows and there were lots of props and stage set that came alive during the performance. Not a minute I’ve lost my attention – as it’s another weakness of mine as I don’t really have a long attention span. I would highly recommend everyone to check out the theatre shows. And you know it’s worth checking it out when you see queues and queues of people lining up. πŸ™‚

10. Woodbury Common Premium Outlets

We had to catch a bus that took 2 hours to get to the woodbury common premium outlets. I was thinking to myself I hope the outlets is well worth it. When we arrived at the place we saw lots of tourists carrying large piece of luggage carting it around to different stores. We thought to ourselves is this really necessary? We later found it was necessary cos there’s 300+ worth of stores in the outlets and we had only 5 hours to do our shopping before the bus comes and pick us up and drop us back to the city area. It was amazing how much shopping you could do within 5 hours, all the brands were there except for LV – as they don’t generally have outlet stores, but all the clothing items DKNY, Calvin Klein, Hugo Boss etc were really cheap compared to Australia. So we ended up buying ourselves a large luggage so that we could fit all our shopping goodies in there πŸ™‚

And if you have some time, you can check out this awesome Magnolia Bakery store that sells fantastic cup cakes – I won’t put any pictures up as I have done a post on this already πŸ™‚

New York is fantastic place to be, full of things to see, things to do, lots happening, and great food for eating!!!

Leave a Reply

