Magnolia Bakery – New York

Published June 15, 2010 by Mary Jane

Well, I was told by a friend that we must pay this bakery store a visit when we’re in New York. Apparently Magnolia Bakery sells famous cup cakes. Now I’m not a person that’s really into cup cakes, but I thought to myself since we’re going to Rocker fella might as well check this place out. Our first time to Magnolia Bakery there were like queues of people already. I was so surprised to see there’s actually queues of people waiting to buy some cupcakes – they got to have some awesome cupcakes there.

When we finally got let in, it was awesome – even though it was a tiny shop it had one section with cakes and the other section with cupcakes and you could see the kitchen side decorating cup cakes. ๐Ÿ™‚

Famous cup cakes

Famous cup cakes

Now I stared at rows and rows of cupcakes, they’ve got a thick swirl of frosting or icing and I was thinking to myself it’s going to be really sweet due to the amount of frosting they put on. However, the moment I bite into the cupcake the frosting literally melts inside my mouth and it’s not sweet but it was creamy. Mmm..nice sensation. The cupcakes are so fresh and moist, I wanted to have more and more of it.

my chocolate frosting cupcake

my chocolate frosting cupcake

The cupcakes were so tasty, we decided if we have time we’ll go second time and try out their other cakes. Yup, we returned 2nd time and there were no queues hooray! So I ended up with a lemon cheese cake and Pandabear had some apple crumble.

Lemon cheese cake

Lemon cheese cake

Apple Crumble

Apple Crumble

I love the sign on the board that says “When life hands you lemons” and there’s pictures of cupcakes and cakes..it’s so cute..if only life was that simple..but it does help I suppose with all the sugar rush ๐Ÿ™‚

I definitely recommend everyone checking this place out and you get to see them making frosting and piping it on to the cupcakes. If I stayed there long enough I may even be able to figure out their secret recipe hehehehe

Leave a Reply

