Restaurant Review – Grand Hyatt Restaurant (San Francisco)

Published May 21, 2010 by Mary Jane

Long time no see bloggy friends, it’s been more than 2 weeks since I’ve updated my last blog. I must really apologise, time is really flying and I’ve been caught again amongst busy things. Having to come home from work after gluing myself to the computer for close to 8 hours, the desire to switch on my mac and post my blogs have been really really low. But anyways, tonight I’ve decided I’m going to upload some photos and do some update on my blog. Well, I’ve nearly finished posting all the restaurant reviews from San Francisco, except for one final restaurant…that is the Grand Hyatt Restaurant. One night, we thought to ourselves so lazy to go out to dine at a restaurant – why don’t we just dine at the Grand Hyatt Restaurant, surely our experiences of dining at restaurants inside the hotel is usually quite a good one. So we thought anyways…

Grand Hyatt Restaurant

Grand Hyatt Restaurant

window view seat

window view seat

We booked for a table of two, when we arrived at 6.30pm there were hardly any customers. The decor was neat but kinda old, all tables were set up with wine glasses and cutlery and some tables were joined together so we thought to ourselves maybe we’ve came a little early. Nevermind, it just means our food will taste better cos we’re the first customer there. The Asian waiter sat us down next to the window where we could see a beautiful view of San Francisco City and was very friendly spoke fluent American English and offered us some drinks. Pandabear and I spotted the tropical fruit punch non-alcoholic and ordered this for both of us.

Tropical Fruit Punch

Tropical Fruit Punch

The fruit punch arrived and it was very tasty – I could taste a mixture of pineapple, orange, and some other flavours which I couldn’t pick up but Pandabear loved it and ordered 1 more glass of it. We weren’t feeling too hungry so thought we’ll order an entree to share – which was prawns cooked in tomato based sauce and polenta. Pandabear isn’t a polenta type of guy, but I convinced him if it was cooked properly it will be silky smooth similar to mash potato so he was convinced. We were served with hot home made bread rolls that was lovely. When our entree arrived it was tiny like 3 prawns and to be honest the presentation was pretty average, now I would expect for the presentation of a dish, you have to at least make sure the sauces don’t splatter around the plates…but I could spot some sauce stains on the white plate. The prawns were over cooked, the polenta was rough and grainy instead of smooth and the tomato based sauce just didn’t have that kick. It was disappointing…

Prawns with polenta in a tomato based sauce

Prawns with polenta in a tomato based sauce

Now for mains, Pandabear loves Caesar salad – now you can’t go wrong with a Caesar salad it’s so easy to make and I wouldn’t usually order a caesar salad in a restaurant, but unfortunately Pandabear loves Caesar salad and he’s not adventurous enough to try other salads. So we had that..when it arrived, I stared at the plate – the lettuce looks so miserable they didn’t have that crispness looks in them, seemed a little soggy drenched by the salad dressing, some shavings of Parmesan cheese and some anchovies with a thin piece of bread that’s meant to be croutons?? The dish just looks miserable and lack of that freshness in it. Very disappointed how can you go wrong with a simple caesar salad???

Caesar Salad

Caesar Salad

So my main course finally came and I’ve decided to try their fish with creamy white sauce pasta served with asparagus and mushrooms. Sounds rather nice and I was thinking to myself if they stuff up this dish, I will have to give them a very bad rating. So my main arrived well, the presentation was still a little lacking, spotted some sauce stain again and it just looks as though a whole pile of mushrooms have been dumped on top of the fish. The garnish needs to go and I could see the oil oozing out from the sauce which kinda puts me off. So I taste it and it actually didn’t taste that bad, except it’s definitely very creamy and oily – I love the mushrooms & asparagus, fish was tender but the pasta was way too oily and it lacks in seasoning. So it’s edible but lacks in flavouring. I passed the rest of the dish over to Pandabear and asked him to eat it cos I couldn’t finish it. The serving size was decent though….

fish with white sauce served with mushrooms & asparagus

fish with white sauce served with mushrooms & asparagus

So both entree and mains were disappointing, the waiter came back and said would you like to have a look at the dessert menu?? I was thinking long and hard and decided well, let’s see if they can make it up with their dessert. Maybe, just maybe their desserts will blow me away…..so I spotted a chocolate lava cake served with strawberries and icecream…yum yum…I haven’t had chocolate lava cake for ages…so I asked the waiter is this dessert good? He replied it’s one of our best dessert highly recommended. So I thought to myself, why not give it a try. When it arrived, the presentation looks good – the strawberries were fresh, the chocolate lava cake looks moist except the icecream has already melted leaving a pool of melted icecream…now the test was to cut through the lava cake and to see the chocolate lava running and oozing out from the cake. When I cut it open it was dry there were no sauces oozing out. I was very disappointed!! The chocolate lava cake had failed miserably, we still finished our dessert – we never waste food unless it’s totally not edible…

chocolate lava cake with strawberries & icecream

chocolate lava cake with strawberries & icecream

Cut open lava cake - no lava!!

Cut open lava cake - no lava!!

After a disappointing meal, it was time for some rating:

Dining experience: 3 star – just pass as the waiters were nice and friendly
Food experience: 2 star
Would I recommend: Definitely NOT!!!

Leave a Reply

