Restaurant Review – Sanraku Japanese Restaurant (San Francisco)

Published April 22, 2010 by Mary Jane

Hiya Bloggy Friends, well – it’s another day of battle against my viral bug. Last night I couldn’t sleep cos I have developed another symptom of a sore tummy that has either kept me awake the whole night or it may be due to over sleeping of 15+ during day time. So today, I have decided it was time to visit GP to find out what’s wrong with me. I hate visiting doctors, first of all it’s expensive and secondly they always tells me to rest and drink plenty of water along with taking some panadols!! Grrr…My GP is really hard to make an appointment with cos she’s a female GP and only works 1/2 days for only 2 days so have to book in months ahead. So today I asked Pandabear whether he knows another GP that I can visit today. Thankfully, there was one and off I went. His name was Scott – very lovely and friendly guy who was thorough in his examination gave me free samples which is a bonus to settle my disturbing stomach. He has confirmed that I have a Gastro viral infections which is a tummy bug or virus..so I’ve had to canceled this Saturday’s dinner with friends incase I pass this bug to them.:-(

So having slept another 5 hours after coming back from the GP, feeling alittle better but bored. I’m one of those who cannot just rest at home and watch TV it will drive me crazy!!! I quickly asked when can I go back to work??? He was like you better take tomorrow off incase you started getting diarrhea and vomiting. So I have tomorrow off…and then there’s the long weekend. Yay!! 🙂

So as I have mentioned before I love Japanese food and when we asked our concierge which restaurant would they recommend and they gave us a few so we choose the one that was the closest to our hotel – shortest walk due to hilly side in San Francisco. Upon arrival, it was totally packed – there were only 2 seats available at the sushi bar, which is fine with me cos I love watching sushi chef make the lovely sushi.

Now I’m a sushi lover, where is Pandabear is more into his tempura so we thought let’s try a bit of sushi and order 2 main courses from the menu. My main was a tori yaki sesame seed chicken with rice and it came with miso soup and salad. Pandabear ofcourse had his tempura which also was served with rice and came with miso soup and salad and we both shared a small plate of sushi. Now our sushi was so fresh, I’m not a raw fish person but the fish melts in your mouth and doesn’t leave this fish taste in your mouth. So we loved our sushi, presentation was fantastic. The miso soup and salad came first, they looked fresh and followed by our mains which was fantastic. My tori yaki was crispy on the outside and flavorsome and Pandabear’s tempura was fantastic, not oily but fresh.

Our fresh sushi

Our fresh sushi

Miso Soup with Salad

Miso Soup with Salad

Tori Yaki Sesame Chicken

Tori Yaki Sesame Chicken

Tempura Mix

Tempura Mix

The food waiting time was pretty good, it was packed that night and we received our meal within 10-15 minutes so not bad for a busy restaurant. When we finished our main we were tummy satisfied but there’s always a separate tummy for desserts, and we were recommended by the sushi manager named Kit – the egg pudding with green tea icecream and fresh fruits. Yummy, the presentation was fantastic and the taste was delicious I’m so glad we ordered this dessert to share.

Egg pudding with green tea icecream n fruits

Egg pudding with green tea icecream n fruits

Well, Kit is the sushi manager there he started chatting to us – he must be bored every night making those sushis and I asked him where he was from, he said Malaysia – well Pandabear’s brethren. I asked him how long he’s been working at Sanraku he said around 10 years!! I was shocked doing the same thing?? He said well, time flies and now he’s more into the management side of things. Why not run your own business I ask? He said you might not earn alot even if you own your own restaurant there’s a lot of pressure in owning a restaurant. Well, Kit if I have the money one day I shall invest in your sushi business cos you make awesome sushis he laughed I’ll be waiting for that day to come… here’s some of the fantastic sushi art I call it from Kit while he was chatting away with us he was making some awesome sushis.

Here’s my ratings:

Dining Experience: 4 star
Food Experience: 4.5 star
Would I recommend? YES!

Leave a Reply

