Restaurant Review – Floating Sushi Boat Restaurant (San Francisco)

Published April 19, 2010 by Mary Jane

Evening Bloggy friends, wow I’ve just finished watching one of my favourite Masterchef show. As usual, it was fantastic and after watching it made me feel like I should have answered that overseas miscall while I was in Taiwan and it had a blocked number which I couldn’t call back and it was around the time they were contacting contestants. Oh well, it’s not meant to be maybe it’s not even a call from them. Now, I have something bad to share – I’m down with a sore throat again – it’s now becoming like a regular routine. I’m hoping it will go away cos this Saturday night I have invited 3 friends over for dinner and I’m cooking for them.Okies, so back to my favourite topic of restaurant review to drown my sorrowful sore throat. As most of you all know I love Japanese food and it seems bizarre to my friends that every single one of my holiday trips, I would always have a photo of some Japanese restaurant.

So, as we were walking along the China Town area looking around for souvenirs we located this interesting restaurant by the name of Floating Sushi Boat Restaurant I mean how cool is that is there really floating sushis inside? So my curiosity got the best out of me and I shouted to Pandabear we are dining this restaurant. I took a little peak it was 11.45am and the opening time says 12pm but I could see someone inside the restaurant already so I opened the door and lo and behold there was a sushi chef standing there making fresh sushi and putting them onto a boat!! Cool and I asked are you guys opening soon? He answered politely in broken English yes around 10-15 minutes. So that gave us some time to buy some nick knacks – I know you may think 10-15 minutes what can you buy? Trust me I’m an expert in speed shopping I can go into a shop within 10 minutes and grab what I want.

99c cheap sushi plate sign

99c cheap sushi plate sign

The restaurant decor

The restaurant decor

So it was time to head back to the restaurant. When we arrived an Asian lady sat us down around a table – now it reminds me of Jaws sushi train in Perth, but instead of trains that rotates along with plates of sushi on top they have boats that pulls each other around the circle – how interesting 🙂 I was pretty entertained until Pandabear interrupted me and said which sushi would you like? The whole place seemed nice and casual decorated with bamboo and usual Japanese features and some big sign outside indicating 99c per plate of sushi. The chef was friendly gave me a smile. So as usual I went straight for the bright orange caviar california roll, had a few plates of sushi, ordered plain udon noodles cos it was freezing outside so needed something warm.

The friendly chef

The friendly chef

The Sushi Boat

The Sushi Boat

My favourite Caviar Sushi

My favourite Caviar Sushi

Plain Udon Noodles

Plain Udon Noodles

We got very thirsty and realised they sell bubble tea – was excited both Pandabear and I got our bubble tea cos I love my bubble tea it’s a Taiwanese thing. We had Lychee and Watermelon bubble tea which was a BIG MISTAKE! It tasted artificial, so sweet as if they just loaded up with powder sweetner and the bubbles were too soft and mushy – I just want to chuck the whole drink away.But me being me, never waste anything so I drank 1/2 of it. Btw the lady who sat us down seemed rather rude and impatient so I should have returned her yucky bubble tea 🙂

The artificial mushy bubble tea

The artificial mushy bubble tea

Anyways, apart from disgusting bubble tea – I took the chance of asking the chef where he’s from cos he didn’t look Japanese and he replied from China. Well, he’s definitely well-trained cos he makes sushi like Japanese sushi chef. Well, there were definitely 99c plate of sushi but they were pretty boring ones – so didn’t end up ordering any of that went straight for the expensive ones. Well, when it came to paying the bill – I was telling pandabear don’t give too much tips cos the lady’s service is shocking and her bubble tea was yucky. Anyways, she never came back to pick up our bill – we saw another lady standing at the counter so we walked there to pay for it. She was a lovely lady started chatting to us asking where we were from telling us about how China Town in San Francisco is one of the best and if you go to New York’s one you will be very disappointed thanks for the tip but we’ll check it out ourselves.

So here’s my ratings:

Dining Experience: 3.5 star – due to bad service from the Asian lady
Food Experience: 3.5 star – due to bad bubble tea it really ruin the rest of our meal
Would I recommend it? Yes – cos the sushi was great and relatively cheap compared to Perth, but make sure you don’t order their bubble tea we found out the hard way.

Leave a Reply

