Restaurant Review – Fish Monger Seafood Restaurant

Published March 10, 2010 by Mary Jane

Well, last night was my younger sister’s early birthday celebration. So I decided to book a seafood restaurant, one that we’ve never been. I’ve always walked across this restaurant down James Street Northbridge and I love the fishy’s face – so I thought well, why not give it a try. Went online to read some reviews, not many reviews but the menu seemed nice enough.

It was a Tuesday night, so I don’t expect too many customers on a week night. There were a table of 2 and then a group of 6 came later on. Our table was set and there were some colouring pencils along with colour sheet for the kids to draw – that’s very thoughtful I thought. There were 2 waitresses on that night and they both seemed very friendly one have a strong accent not from Australia. Then there was also a sheet of fish jokes which I found quite entertaining.

Fish Joke

Fish Joke

I like the decor of the restaurant very casual and family orientated there’s even a fish aquarium that’s rather pretty full of different colour fishes…

lovely fish aquarium

lovely fish aquarium

There were lots of choice on the menu. My younger sister was starving so I decided to order some bread for the table, the waitress recommended sour dough with balsamic vinegar olive oil dip and I felt like some chilli mussels. So soon enough we had that, the sour dough was dry not fresh and not warm enough and the chilli mussels didn’t taste that great either, the sauce was runny not very flavoursome and the mussels didn’t seem fresh – I think I make better chilli mussels than the one we had. 😦 So entree was disappointing.

Chilli Mussels

Chilli Mussels

So I was hoping that the mains would make up for the disappointing entree. So Mum and I decided to have the expensive seafood platter – $44 each and Pandabear had the seafood chowder with crumbed calamari both entree size, my younger sister had salmon with asparagus & her boy friend had seafood risotto. My older sister had sizzling garlic prawns and her hubby had steak with mash potato. When the mains started to arrive, we were really excited. The portion was quite decent and presentation was great. However the taste was disappointing.

Let me just tell you in detail:

Seafood platter – was beautifully presented could feed 2 people with the serving. The waitress recommended the lobster for additional – well I thought it was $6.50 it turned out they charge us $25 not sure whether it was her accent or not. Lobster was dry and the meat was not fresh, chilli mussels again – same stuff. The fish and chips – fish was dry over done, chips was ok. There were 4 tiger prawns – at least they taste ok. Salad was ok, dressing too sour.

Seafood chowder – too creamy and not enough seafood taste – tasted like boiling cream soup 😦
Calamari – was pretty nicely done
Steak & mash – according to my brother in law it was pretty good – at least they got the steak right
Sizzling prawns – according to my older sister it was pretty good
Seafood risotto – over cooked, it was dry in texture rather than creamy consistency. Some bits were not cooked so it was a bit hard. Seafood was over cooked
Salmon steak with Asparagus – salmon was nicely done so the dish seemed ok

Seafood Chowder

Seafood Chowder

Calamari

Calamari

Seafood Risotto

Seafood Risotto

Salmon steak with Asparagus

Salmon steak with Asparagus

Seafood platter

Seafood platter

Sizzling Garlic Prawns

Sizzling Garlic Prawns

Steak with Mash

Steak with Mash

Overall, the main was a disappointment and the price was ridiculously expensive for the food! Here’s my rating

Dining experience: 3.5 star – I give extra points to the waitress who were very friendly with their service
Food experience: 2.5 star
Would I recommend? Absolutely NO!

Leave a Reply

