Organic Vegie Garden Update

Published March 3, 2010 by Mary Jane

Okies, I’ve mentioned earlier that I have a very very small patch of vegie garden in my backyard. Now so far my broad beans have not survived the scorching Perth hot weather and shriveled all up and died. I’m now left with some miserable looking Kang Kong, my proud gigantic growing red chillies and I’ve also decided it’s time to clean up the sweet potato leaves they were growing out of control and because of the heat most of the leaves have turned rather brown – not really edible anymore. So after harvesting my chillies I pulled all the sweet potato leaves out and leaving some behind so it will continue growing fresh batch.

Then, I remembered that I still have some bitter melon seeds. My father in law grows bitter melon – they are not really something that people would eat cos it’s quite bitter so it’s kinda like an acquired taste. It’s very good for your skin, and if you get ulcers regularly like me you should eat them cos it’s a cooling type of vegie for a heaty person. I usually stir fries them with egg omelet by slicing them really fine or cook them in soup by stuffing the bitter melon with pork mince. Yum yum. 🙂 So while I was watering my vegie garden, I planted some bitter melon seeds. Not sure whether they are in season, but we shall see what comes out of it via trial and error.

My proud chilli plants

My proud chilli plants

close up of chillis

close up of chillis

after my clean up of sweet potato leaves

after my clean up of sweet potato leaves

Bitter Melon Seeds

Bitter Melon Seeds

hopefully the seeds will become bitter melon

hopefully the seeds will become bitter melon

One comment on “Organic Vegie Garden Update

  • Leave a Reply

