Restaurant Review – Yama Sakura Japanese Restaurant

Published February 27, 2010 by Mary Jane

Hello Bloggy friends, I’m so sorry for not had the time to post – it’s been one of those weeks that I was struck down by the sore throat bug – yes – I had them not so long ago and it came back again this time it struck me down 2 days where I couldn’t do anything just slept all day. It’s terrible, by Friday I had to force myself out of bed to go back to work and when I arrived at work my manager said ‘you looked really tired’ – I must look really shocking that day but nevermind I got through the days work and was really looking forward to the long weekend! Yay! Thank God for Labour day 🙂

Anyways, I am feeling better today and this arvo I will be meeting my baking buddies to attempt the evil profiterole tower – bring on the challenge. So I just need to finish the Gold Coast part – this particular restaurant is in Gold Coast, as I’ve mentioned earlier I’m a strong fan of Japanese Food so there were lots of Japanese restaurants around Gold Coast so it was hard to pick the one to dine. Anyways, one dinner night I had the craving for Japanese food so we were roaming around the streets in search of a nice Japanese Restaurant and came across this Authentic Yama Sakura Japanese Restaurant. Why do I say Authentic, cos the chef is Japanese and the staff are all Japanese and on their restaurant walls it’s full of photos of Japanese people who have dined there. So this gotta be a great Japanese Restaurant.

So anyways, we were greeted by this friendly waitress who gave us some menu – when I go to Japanese restaurant I always have to order some sushi as my sides cos I love sushi. So I was wondering what kind of sushi to get…so I asked the waitress what sushi was the most popular and she recommended ‘Nigiri Sushi’ – well I shall have some Nigiri Sushi and a bowl of their popular Ramen – Japanese thin noodles soup and Pandabear not so keen on the sushi decided to have some tonkatsu rice bowl – basically deep fried pork strips with eggs & onion rice and he thought well, I’ll have some sushi too – deep fried prawns ones (he loves anything that’s deep fried, quite unhealthy). So we were happy with our order.

Now the restaurant is organised so that the kitchen is an open kitchen which is pretty cool you can see what the chef is doing and the whole decor of the restaurant is pretty authentic wooden furniture with tatami mats. So it wasn’t packed that night cos it was a weeknight and we got there pretty early so our food arrived pretty quickly and I was shocked!! Why? My ‘Nigiri Sushi’ turned out to be all raw!! Raw Salmon, Raw Tuna and Raw squid…help!! I thought perhaps they have brought out wrong sushi so I asked the waitress politely and to my disappointment she said yup that’s nigiri sushi. Oh dear, so Nigiri sushi is basically raw fish with rice. The only sushi that was not raw was the prawn one – however the presentation was beautiful with colours and very fresh. Now I’m not really a raw person so is Pandabear, so when his deep fried prawn sushi came I opt to trade my raw fish with him, he was very reluctant but since he had 4 pieces of sushi he was happy to trade 1 with me. Anyways, I gobble down the sushi with lots of wasabi and soya sauce – and it actually didn’t taste too bad 🙂 Fortunately, I had the ramen noodle soup to make up for my nigiri sushi 🙂 Pandabear was pretty happy with his sushi and tonkatsu rice bowl.

Overall, we were pretty happy with this casual dining Japanese restaurant. Here’s my rating:

Dining experience: 4 star
Food experience:4 star
Would I recommend: YES!

Nigiri Sushi

Nigiri Sushi

Ramen Noodle Soup

Ramen Noodle Soup

Tonkatsu Rice Bowl

Tonkatsu Rice Bowl

Deep fried prawns sushi

Deep fried prawns sushi

This concludes my trip in Gold Coast, it was great fun and we got by pretty well with our mini smart rental car. So if you are up for some theme parks remember to head down to Gold Coast. 🙂

Leave a Reply

