Restaurant Review – Marriott Surfers Paradise

Published February 18, 2010 by Mary Jane

Hello again, okies we are still in the mind set of Gold Coast – at night time we decided to try out the restaurant in the hotel we stayed in Marriott Surfers Paradise. Now, usually I wouldn’t go to the restaurant in the hotel you are staying in chances are they won’t taste as good and it’s rather pricey. But since, Marriott Surfers Paradise is a 5 star hotel, the restaurant food shouldn’t be too shabby. 🙂 So we booked ourselves in and rocked up, they have buffet on special – everything that ranges from bread selection, salad bar, seafood section and dessert section. Looks rather impressive! I was really impressed they had a gigantic wood fire kiln for woodfire pizzas and there’s chef there making fresh baked woodfire pizzas. However we didn’t feel like buffet so we opt to go for the entrees and mains on the menus.

Gigantic Woodfire Kiln

Gigantic Woodfire Kiln

Salad bar

Salad bar

bread selection

bread selection

dessert selection

dessert selection

So, on the menu we decided to have woodfire pizza to share and Pandabear ordered some prawn kebabs that came with an egg and rice. I had the prawn linguine and the presentation of the food was awesome, very colourful the produce was very fresh. For the pizza we were able to choose 2 different toppings – 1/2 supreme and 1/2 meat lovers. Honestly we were so full and there was still 1/2 of a pizza left. Now, another weakness of mine – I never waste food – I was brought up to finish every single food item on my plate. So I’ve decided to ask the waiter whether we can take away the pizza. Pandabear was like ‘no it’s embarrassing I don’t think 5 star hotel restaurants do take aways!!’ – I wasn’t going to give up this easily, no harm asking. So I asked the waiter and he said ‘not a problem’ – so I was very glad 🙂 no wastage!! We could even have pizza for our supper – even though it’s cold.

Prawn Linguine

Prawn Linguine

Prawn Kebabs with rice & egg

Prawn Kebabs with rice & egg

Massive Woodfire Pizza

Massive Woodfire Pizza

Our pizza takeaway box

Our pizza takeaway box

Anyways, the food was lovely – great taste and huge servings. Now in terms of dining experience I must admit the food waiting time was a little long – around 40 minutes we were starving and it took ages for us to get the waiter’s attention they seemed to be floating around everywhere except coming to our table to take orders. That’s the same for me to wave to the waiters to take away left over pizzas. Here’s my rating:

Dining Experience: 3.5 star
Food Experience: 4 star
Would I recommend: I think so – for the price we paid and the service we get probably would go there 2nd time just to see whether the waiter performance picks up.

Anyways, we took some pizzas back to our hotels and was too full to have it for supper so I had to pop it into our little bar fridge cos there were lots of cheese. The next day, we decided to have it for brekkie – I know cold pizzas are yucky it became stale and hard. Guess what I did, I simply improvise and got my hair dryer and started blow drying the pizzas – sometimes I think I maybe an inventor when it comes to heating food hehehehe it took at least 5 minutes to heat up 1 small slice of pizza but it paid off cos Pandabear started eating his pizza and I did too 🙂 I love happy pizza endings. Anyways, I shall end it and hopefully I’ve changed the format of my blog slightly to accommodate bloggy friends – otherwise sorry I did try my best 🙂 good night and sweet dreams…

Leave a Reply

