Food at Gold Coast – Sea World

Published February 16, 2010 by Mary Jane

Hello Bloggy Friends, okies – I’m now finally over Sydney so it’s time to swing by to Gold Coast, we managed to stay there a few days for our honeymoon as well and visited a few of highly recommended places – Movie world, Sea world and Nope – NO dream world for us cos we found out Dream world was all about scary rides and since Pandabear wasn’t a scary ride person and I’m kinda afraid of heights – another of my weakness we decided to just roam around Movie world & Sea world. Gold coast is a pretty touristy place compared to Sydney and Melbourne. There’s heaps of beaches and everyone seemed really lay back and friendly. Fortunately to get us by we hired a smart rental car – a tiny little car that fits just the both of us, I got it for free with my bartercard from my previous company. 🙂 I love freebies…it’s cool but hard to drive cos it’s kinda like tectonic which is similar to driving manual cars – yes I only drive automatic cars. Fortunately, Pandabear could operate it.

With regards to food, as I’ve mentioned I’m a major fan of Japanese food – in particular sushi and we found out there were heaps of Japanese food joint at Gold Coast yay!!! So we went off to visit the arcade similiar to Perth’s Garden City shopping centre except slightly bigger and try out their food court stuff. We chose to dine at this Japanese place and got some take away. It was pretty nice. I had the bento box and Pandabear had his usual tempura mix with rice. That was our lunch and for dinner, we decided to try out some fine dining Japanese teppanyaki restaurant and it was really cool with the chef performing some tricks with volcanos made from onion rings and chucking & chopping food and throwing it into peoples mouth with their tools – it was awesome. I will do a restaurant review later on 🙂

Apart from awesome Japanese food in Gold Coast we also had some room service in our 5 star hotel – the Merritt Surfer’s paradise where in the middle of the night I was feeling really hungry and decided to order some room service even though the menu price was a bit of a rip off but hey? It’s our honeymoon, so I ordered some minestrone soup that came with bread rolls. When the door bell rang, I had to quickly crawl back into my bed covering myself with bedsheets cos I was in my PJs and asked Pandabear to go and grab the food…That was yummy and the guy delivered to us and came back to claim the dirty dishes later on 🙂

The next day, we wanted to try out some sushi train. Now usually in Perth I go to Jaws for sushi train but it’s nothing spectacular just normal sushis but sushi train in Gold Coast is HUGE!!! So many varieties of sushis to try I’m pretty sure I had about 50 plates or something ridiculous seriously sometimes I wonder whether I have worms inside my tummy cos I eat so much…but it was awesome to have so many choices to choose from. They were all very tasty too 🙂 So later on we went to Sea World the moment I arrived at the place the trolley worth of soft toys caught my eyes – there were polar bears and seals plush toys selling for $10 each – I wanted to buy at least 3 of them, 2 for me and 1 for my niece. But Pandabear was whinging with his usual line “The soft toys are going to collect dust and you have so many of them!” I’ve since master the skills of obtaining soft toys..now the technique of getting Pandabear to get me some soft toy is to hug them first and then put them back, slowly walk away looking miserable and occasionally turn around to have a look at them again and then make a ‘sigh’ noise. And then guess what happens Pandabear would look at me and say his one liner ” go and quickly buy those before I change my mind” and I would race down to the trolley to grab 3 of them and be over the moon. Sweet sweet Soft toy victory 🙂

Now after the racing down to the soft toy trolley it was time for some snacks – we located this Hot Dog Works stand that sells huge hot dogs that came with lots of onions and cheese and a selection of mustard and tomato sauce. It was very tasty large enough to feed both Pandabear and myself. Later on it was lunch time and we decided to have some fish and chips and deep fried drum sticks – yes very unhealthy and they tasted pretty average really. It was great fun at sea world you get to see a lot of sea animals – I love animals so to me sea world is a great place to be!! I saw polar bears real ones and fake ones and dugongs. Visited the shark bay and saw some scary sharks – I don’t really like sharks. Touched some star fish – live ones and watched dolphin shows that was lovely. Had some kid’s rides – yes they are designed for kids and since Pandabear and I are both kinda afraid of adult rides – we go for the kids ones…I just passed being a kid. People do stare at Pandabear when he comes along with me. Snack time was some churros – only $3 each – bargain! They tasted like donut sticks with lots of cinnamon sugar. So we quickly bought some churros and lined up for some stunt police shows – it was really entertaining I would recommend people watching these shows when you go to sea world. Plus it’s free 🙂

I had great fun in Sea World and would highly recommend this place to anyone who loves theme parks and animals 🙂

Okies, I shall update you guys with more details on Movie world in the next post and amongst other food adventures…

Good night & Sweet dreams…

Our sensational beach side resort view

Our sensational beach side resort view

Our tiny smart rental car

Our tiny smart rental car

Japanese Bento Box

Japanese Bento Box

Tempura Mix

Tempura Mix

Room Service Bread rolls & soup

Room Service Bread rolls & soup

Room service Minestrone soup

Room service Minestrone soup

The Cheap Plush Seals

The Cheap Plush Seals

The awesome hot dog works

The awesome hot dog works

Kids rides area

Kids rides area

The average fish & chips and deep fried drumsticks

The average fish & chips and deep fried drumsticks

Churros Stand

Churros Stand

The Police Stunt Show

The Police Stunt Show

Leave a Reply

