Restaurant Review – Young Alfred Restaurant

Published February 12, 2010 by Mary Jane

Evening People, we are still still in the mindset of Sydney. This time we met up with a friend of ours who booked this restaurant, my first impression is that it’s a casual dining restaurant with a bar for you to order drinks. Nice & relaxed atmosphere, somewhere nice for friends to catch up over some drinks. The waitress was pretty friendly set us down and gave us some menu to order. Pandabear ordered some nice piece of steak with blue cheese, I had some nice piece of burramundi fish with chick peas and we decided to share a woodfire pizza between the 4 of us. Now this friend of ours brought along his girlfriend who I met for the first time and I was thinking to myself she reminds me of Jolin Tsai the famous singer in Taiwan. Her facial features, her mannerism, my goodness I thought it was Jolin’s twin. So I asked her “have anyone ever told you, that you look like Jolin Tsai?” She said “yeah all the time, even one time I went with my parents on holidays random girls would come up to me and ask for my autograph and I kept telling them I’m not Jolin!!” What a great laugh, so I took a picture with her hoping I could tell my friends I met Jolin’s twin hehehehe.

Anyways, our pizza arrived – wow that’s a pizza with lots of meat. Now though I’m an animal lover, I’m actually a meat lover too. I believe animals such as chicken, cows and pigs are created for us to eat so I love my meat!! It was rather appealing as if though those salami and hams were going to jump right at me. The taste was pretty good, a decent woodfire pizza. So our mains arrived, the presentation was fantastic – especially with the colour and texture contrast and the taste was great too 🙂 Very pleased with our meal. You would think after eating pizza and mains we should be pretty full right?? Wrong, we felt like some dessert – now the Jolin’s twin ate just salad and it made me felt really bad as she’s already so skinny already and I’m like well I wouldn’t say fat but well-nourished and I was pigging out compared to her. But since it was our honeymoon I’ve decided to spoil myself. So for dessert we had tiramisu served with icecream. Bonus! I’ve never had tiramisu served with icecream before. Now I was picturing my tiramisu coming to me in a little cup not too big of a serving so I don’t feel too bad. When the tiramisu arrived, I was shocked!!! It was huge, and it didn’t come inside a cup it was on a plate – it’s definitely home made. I tried and amazingly it was delicious and went well with the chocolate/coffee icecream on top. Great presentation with a splash of raspberry sauce. I was so full but so happy & satisfied.

Well, it was time to visit the ladies…now when I came to the door I was like what does the picture look like? It was a picture of female lady with ‘F’ and little ‘fff’s so cute – so me being me took a picture of it. Yes, I get amused easily – another weakness of me 😛

So my overall rating:

Dining Experience: 4 star
Food Expereince: 4.5 star
Would I recommend: YES!

Woodfire load of meat Pizza

Woodfire load of meat Pizza

Steak with Blue Cheese

Steak with Blue Cheese

Burramundi with chickpea sauces

Burramundi with chickpea sauces

Tiramisu and icecream

Tiramisu and icecream

Funky Female Toilet door

Funky Female Toilet door

Leave a Reply

