Restaurant Review – Bluewater Bar & Grill

Published February 10, 2010 by Mary Jane

Hello People, this week has been one of those weeks. I’ve recovered from the cold and flu symptoms but now I have tummy aches..argh!! Grrr…anyways, I hope it’s not what I have ate for dinner as I’ve been working late I’ve been having to grab some takeaway for dinner rather than cooking some home cooked meals. Anyways, I’m really counting down to the US & Canada holiday trip in March so I can enjoy food & shopping in US & Canada šŸ™‚ only 4 more weeks left to go. Anyways, time for a restaurant review. This particular restaurant is based in Applecross, I went there for my birthday dinner.

Nice city view, a little on the fine dining scale of things. So we got there and were offered whether we would like to sit at outdoor tables or indoors, they recommend for us to sit at outdoor as you can see the beautiful sunset. But, as both Pandabear and myself both don’t like mosquitoes and bugs we figured we’ll sit semi-indoor, 1/2 way between indoor and outdoor and see how we go. That was the right choice as the outdoor people had to constantly wave off little flies and bugs as the night progresses. So the waitress offered us some crusty bread to start with and the seafood platter caught our eyes straight away. It wasn’t cheap, however since it was my birthday we figured let’s splurge abit. So we asked the waitress how big was the serving is it sufficient for 2 people? She was like ‘let’s just say people don’t usually finish the seafood plater as it’s huge!! Sounds great for us šŸ™‚ so we decided to order that as we’re both big eaters (well, actually more like me).

Now when the bread came it was lovely, fluffy and homemade and it even came with some dipping sauces. However, when I stared at the sauces closely I found a little bug in it. So I had to sent it straight back. The waitress apologised and brought another one straight back with ‘it’s now bug free’ I thought that was quite cute. I understand sometimes little bugs do slips into the cutleries and plates from time to time so I was willing to overlook this. When our main course came, it was huge!! 3 sections of it with oysters, scallops, king prawns, fish, salmon, squids and salads. I thought, no worries I should be able to finish this off. However, when I go to the end, I was starting to feel a little full – shouldn’t have eaten the yummy bread. We were so full we couldn’t even fit any dessert in. So overall, very happy with the seafood plater, the waiter came back to collect the empty dishes and said ‘we’ve certainly done well šŸ™‚ ‘

Here’s my rating:

Dining Experience: 4 star
Food Experience: 4 star
Would I recommend it: Yes

Crusty Bread

Crusty Bread

Leave a Reply

