Restaurant Review – HaLu Japanese Restaurant

Published January 25, 2010 by Mary Jane

Good morning people, today’s weather is much cooler – Thank God! 🙂 Anyways, as I’ve mentioned earlier I love Japanese food and haven’t come across one in Perth that gives me the “wow” factor. So for Mum’s birthday we decided to try this Japanese Restaurant – Halu in Mt Hawthorn, apparently my sister has been there and really enjoyed their food. So we decide to give it a shot. When we first arrived at the place, it was rather small inside then I realised the restaurant is built the long way so there’s a long corridor. Fortunately, we have reserve a booking otherwise I don’t think we will be able to find a table. It was pretty packed. We went through the menu and decided to have some entrees to try and bentos for mains and for drinks some plum wine – apparently they are very tasty.

Anyways, we waited for a while for our entree – my sister had 2 kids so they were starting to get abit restless. The restaurant is designed so you can see the kitchen area, the cook was sick that day he was sneezing and coughing – I was like he should be sent home. But anyways, we waited for around 30minutes and had to keep asking the waitress how long is the entree coming? Finally the entree came. The presentation was great, however the serving was so small – we scoffed it down and was still feeling hungry and for the price we pay it wasn’t really worth it. Entree – Sashimi, warm sweet potato salad, and tooth fish.

For mains, most of us decided to have bento box that comes with everything – salad, sashimi and miso soup. My brother in law had waigu beef that came with rice – the serving was really small I don’t think it filled him up at all. So bento box was definitely worth it. Anyways, half way through our meal – my younger sister found a piece of hair in her bento box and miso soup – she couldn’t continue eating and we had to call the waitress to let them know. They brought the bento and miso soup back to the kitchen – we can overheard the waitress talking to the cook. He didn’t look very happy, anyways after a little while the waitress come back and asked whether we wanted to order something else, my younger sister got put off from the hair in her food so she decided not to order anything else.

Anyways, the food tasted pretty yummy and the presentation was pretty nice – the food waiting time was however terrible – not sure whether it’s the cook’s fault or too many people to serve. When it came to paying for the bills – I was expecting them to give us some discount or at least remove the bento box cost. However, they were charging us full price – I wasn’t too happy so I asked to speak to the manager and the waitress said the manager is not in so she had to call her and spoke to the manager over the phone. She then came back and said there’s nothing she could do about it. I find this very reasonable – first of all I couldn’t believe there’s no manager in charge in the restaurant and 2ndly they weren’t going to give us some discount on my little sister’s bento box. So I wasn’t going to leave, I asked to speak to the manager over the phone. So the waitress rang the manager and was on the phone speaking in Japanese for a little while. I was starting to get a little impatient. So she came back to me and apologized and said the manager said to remove the bento box cost – after wasted some of my time. It was for the principle that I’m fighting for and not for the money- if you serve customers with hair in the food you should refund everything straight away or provide some sort of discount – it’s common sense.

here’s my rating:

Dining Experience – 2 star
Food Experience – 3 star
Would I recommend this restaurant – NO

Sashimi

Sashimi

Sweet potato warm salad

Sweet potato warm salad

Tooth fish

Tooth fish

Waigu beef

Waigu beef

Creamy Softshell crabs

Creamy Softshell crabs

Bento Box

Bento Box

Leave a Reply

