Dessert Recipe – Profiterole with Custard Filling

Published January 22, 2010 by Mary Jane

Morning Everyone, I’m so glad today is saturday – I love the weekends 🙂 I must have a lot on my mind cos I woke up around 6am this morning and couldn’t go back to sleep 😦 So what did I do? I got up and started doing the laundry and made my IRobot Roomba do the vacumming… I stared at Pandabear, he’s still in deep sleep fortunately he didn’t wake up early on a saturday like me. Usually I’ll sleep in on a Saturday and wake up around 9am or 10am.

So back to dessert recipes, this recipe is a little bit hard compared to the other dessert recipes I have posted up so far however, if I can make it you definitely can do it 🙂

Here it is…

Profiterole with Custard Filling

Ingredients

Choux Pastry
50g unsalted butter
3/4 cup plain flour, sifted twice
3 eggs, lightly beaten

Filling
1 1/2 cups milk
4 egg yolks
1/3 cup caster sugar
3 tablespoons plain flour
1 teaspoon vanilla essence

110g good-quality dark/white chocolate
2 teaspoon vanilla essence

Instructions
1. Preheat the oven to 210 degrees, put the butter in a large pan with 3/4 cup water and stir over medium heat until it comes to boil. Remove from the heat and quickly beat in the flour. Return tot he heat and continue beating until the mixture comes together and leaves the side of the pan. Allow it to cool slightly.

2. Transfer to a bowl and beat to release any heat. Gradually add the beaten egg about 3 teaspoon at a time, beating well until all the eggs has been added and the mixture is thick and glossy – a wooden spoon should stand upright in it if it doesn’t keep beating. Spoon the mixture onto two baking trays and leave room for spreading. A teaspoon of mixture will make a small profiterole, more larger profiterole you can upsize to a tablespoon 🙂

3. Sprinkle the tray with water this creates steam and helps the profiteroles to rise. Bake for 20-30 minutes and remove and make a small hole in the base of each profiterol – you can use a sharp knife and in circular motion justcut a tiny hole. Return to the oven for another 5 minutes to dry out. Cool on a wire rack.

4. To make the filling. Put the milk into a small pan and bring to boil. Set aside while quickly whisking the yolks and sugar in a bowl, until light and creamy. Whisk in the flour. Pour the hot milk slowly onto the egg mixture, whisking mixture and bring to boil. You can stir the mixture using a whisk. Boil for 2 minutes, stiring often. Transfer to a bowl, stir in the vanila essence, cover the surface of the custard with gald wrap toe prevent skin forming, then refrigerate until cold.

5. This is the difficult part – piping the filling into the profiterols through the hole in the base (you can buy piping bags and it comes with the nozzles – from any baking shops). Spoon the custard mixture into the piping bag and squeeze the custard into the profiterol you will feel it gets filled up and stop there and onto the next one.

6. The fun part – melt the chocolate and oil gently, stir until smooth and dip the profiterole on top and after you finish – don’t forget to lick your fingers 🙂

Enjoy…

profiterole

profiterole

12 comments on “Dessert Recipe – Profiterole with Custard Filling

  • How much flour does your cup measure please? I had to use much more flour to make the mixture thick. Or else 3 eggs are too much. Thanks for the recipe 🙂

  • From one food blogger to another I’d like to ask you a couple things if I may, I’m just starting out and I’ve been trying out a few fun recipes when I stumbled upon yours…
    I tried this recipe out yesterday for my boyfriends birthday, or rather just the custard filling because I didn’t have enough time to do the pastry as well. I just got some ready-made profiterole shells from my local supermarket and decided I wouldn’t make ‘cheat’ custard with custard powder, I’d have a go at making the proper stuff.

    I’m not a big fan of your typical custard desserts, a bit heavy for me, but these came out creamy and scrumptious with a fairly light texture. Overall I think it came out well, although, I did have to put it through the blender after it had set because I got quite a few lumps. (I don’t think I could stir it fast enough whilst I had it over the heat). Is there a better way of doing it so that you don’t get so many lumps? Or is it just typical of custard? It was the first time I’ve ever done it so if you have any other extra advice it’d be much appreciated.

    -the kitchen greenhorn

    • thanks for your questions, unfortunately, you have to whip it quite fast while it’s on heat otherwise the lumps starts to form…the other option is to beat it over a lower heat….but yeah mine ones always have a bit of lump in them…

  • Leave a Reply

