Comfort Food Recipe – Stir Fry Hokkein Noodles

Published January 20, 2010 by Mary Jane

Hello again…I’m in a mood to write lots of recipes so we’ll see how we go. Please let me know if you can’t understand my cooking instructions as most of them I don’t measure things so in terms of table spoon or tea spoon I just go by my measurement of my tongue – taste the food and it will tell you how much amount more you need…so let me know if you’re confuse and I’m happy to clarify for you 🙂

Next simple dish is stir fried Hokkein Noodles – I love rice!! I need to eat rice everyday otherwise I will feel I’m missing something… but when I get bored of what to cook for dinner I’ll go with the noodle option. So here it is:

Stir Fry Hokkein Noodles

Ingredients
1 x packet of hokkein noodles
2 -3 cloves of garlic
500 g of chicken thighs
2 -3 spring onions
2 x eggs
1 bunch of bok choy or any chinese vegies
2 table spoon of caramel black sauce
1 table spoon of soya sauce
some chillies

Instructions
1. Cut open the packet of hokkein noodles now they usually get packaged and comes with long strand of noodles so to ensure the noodles are not too long what I usually do is make a criss cross cut along the centre of the packet and that way the noodles are cut and it’s easy to get them out of the packet (I learn this from watching a cook at a restaurant where I used to work many many years ago). Soak the noodles in hot water for about 2-3 min not too long otherwise the noodles will become too soft and hard to stir fry.
2. Mince the garlic, add some oil to the pan and stir fry the garlic, whipped up the eggs and pour it in and stir fry around it and break them into pieces, chopped the chicken thighs into long strands bite size if you feel like seafood you can substitute with prawns, fish balls or any other meat – I love chicken so most of the time I’ll have chicken thighs. Stir fry them until the chicken is golden brown add some drizzle of soya sauce and pop the drained noodles into the pan and stir fry around it, add some soya sauce and cut chilli along with sprigs of spring onions. Add 1 cup of water and the caramel sauce (You can get a big bottle of black caramel sauce from Asian Grocery store they are fantastic flavours for noodles and Kuey teows). Place some chopped bok choy into the pan and usually I would place a lid on it to steam the noodles a bit it makes it nice and soft. You can steam the noodles for about 15-20 minutes make sure you constantly stir around it so it doesn’t stick to the wok.
3. Once the noodles is cooked pour it to the bowl and garnish with some chopped red chillies

Enjoy…

Leave a Reply

