Food at Kaohsiung, Taiwan

Published January 19, 2010 by Mary Jane

Our next place to go to is Kaohsiung, Taiwan – and we’ve decided to go to dream mall. Dream Mall (夢時代購物中心) is the largest shopping mall in Taiwan and the second largest in Southeast Asia after the Mall of Asia in Manila, Philippines. I’ve never been there before and this was my first time to the Mall as our last Taiwan trip I was sick so stayed in the hotel. This time, I made sure I don’t miss out on this opportunity. We were pretty fortunate that our hotel is right next to the Kaohsiung train station so we decided to catch the train. Now while we were waiting for the train to come, a guard came up to me and told me ‘you can’t chew gum in this place’ I was like well, I dont see any bins around here.. his comments were ‘ you can maybe put them inside a tissue paper and then throw them away once you find a bin’ – I was really surprised, I mean I know there’s no eating at the train area but I didn’t know they were that strict – ‘no chewing’ then I saw a sign says fines – no food. So I was glad the guard didn’t fine me on the spot for chewing a piece of gum. So beware when you are at the train station make sure you don’t chew your gum.

Anyways, we arrived at the dream mall and was really excited and thought we’ll go straight to the food court section to have some lunch, we’ve decided to have some teppanyaki (鉄板焼) -literally pan fried food items on a hot plate. You get to choose a selection from beef, pork, seafood, vegetarian or a mixture of all and it comes with unlimited soft drinks, soup and rice. So we decided to have a mixture one and the serving was huge. It’s cool to see the chef comes out and start to do his tricks and cutting the food with his tools. It tasted really good and we would definitely come back again. So afterwards, we were feeling thirsty and came across this ice store that sells shaved ice – except the only difference is that it’s snow ice alot finer than the ones we had in Pingtung. I ordered taro and pudding flavoured snow ice and Pandabear had pineapple flavoured snow ice. It literally melts in your mouth, but I think I still prefers the shaved ice in pingtung it tasted better in the sense that the ingredients are there where as this one tasted pretty artificial.

So after our snow ice, we decided to wonder around the food court area and came across some nice bread shop – which sells my favourite sweet buns you can get them in Perth but the flavour is limited and not as tasty. But I was too full to buy anymore so I figured I’ll come back and buy some for snacks. Came across a small supermarket and went in for a visit. Everything is neatly packaged kinda reminds me of Japan where everything is so neat and everything is packaged. Also took a shot of apples as they were like huge!!! Anyways, the shop owner came to me and said ‘sorry no photographs please’ so I had to stop taking pictures otherwise I wanted to show what they sell in those supermarkets.

Okies, we were feeling pretty thirsty so needed to get some drinks. Kaohsiung is well known for papaya drink I know it’s an acquired taste no everyone likes these sort of drink but I missed it cos I used to have it when I was young and then I found they sell deep fried hot dogs – flour battered. Yummy so I got myself one too. I’m surprised that I didn’t feel sick afterwards cos papaya milk drink plus flour battered hot dog is not a good mix. Anyways, I left feeling pretty happy 🙂

So it’s lunch time, we decided to look around and decide what we want. Dream Mall is pretty cool in the food court area it has streets of cuisine – Japanese, Western style, Chinese and more. So we decided to head down the China town way for some taiwanese cuisine, came across this little noodle place. Pandabear wasn’t really hungry so he had some dry wonton and pork mince noodles. I’ve decided to have some braised pig trotters – I know people might say ‘gross!’ you eat pig trotters? Well, honestly if they cook it well it taste delicious – once again one of the acquired taste. So my meal came with wonton soup and stir fried vegies – I know I’m a big eater I’m always hungry sometimes I wonder whether I have worms in my tummy cos I’m always hungry. Anyways, the meal was great and it was really affordable I think our meal cost around AUD$10 which is very cheap!

When we arrived in Kaohsiung, I wasn’t feeling too great must have caught some cold so I started getting high fever and sore throat I was beginning to think maybe I have the swine flu because of eating the pig trotters. Fortunately, I just caught some virus and it wasn’t swine flu had to take some antibiotics and rest for a few days and then I recovered. But even when I was sick I still had to eat something cos I was still hungry but my appetite wasn’t the best so decided to have some soup it’s good for sore throat so I got myself a bitter melon soup. I know most people would be like isn’t it a torture to eat something bitter. Well, my mum used to say when you become older you would appreciate the taste of bitter melon. And she was right, now I’ve loving the taste of the bitter melon it’s a cooling vegie for someone like me who is quite heaty…

Well, we’ve decided to catch up with one of our cousins who is army at the moment so we’ve asked our relatives in Pingtung to meet us at Kaohsiung for a nice meal. We located this restaurant called Sun Family Restaurant and thought that’s pretty cool my mum’s surname is ‘sun’ and our relatives in pingtung was also ‘sun’ so we figured that it should be a nice place to dine. We end up ordering some deep fried pan cake, seafood porridge, seafood noodles and I had dumplings – I love dumplings it’s one of my favourite food. Taiwanese can eat dumplings only for their main meal and usually we eat it with sweet corn soup. So that’s exactly what I had with it – yummy – I will post up recipe on how to make Taiwanese dumplings soon…

Pandabear and I decided that we would like to take a ferry to go to this place called Chijin (旗津) is a district in Kaohsiung which is a place that’s famous for selling fresh seafood. The ferry took us there and we hop onto a bus that tours around the whole Chijin which is pretty cool. We end up asking people around for wheres the best restaurant for seafood. The locals replied ‘well there’s expensive rip off street or you can go down the cheap street that sells pretty good seafood’ I was thinking why would anyone go down the expensive rip off street to buy seafood but apparently that street is touristy area so most tourist would head there for seafood. So we thought, nah! We’ll stick to the cheap street with good seafood. It was hard deciding which restaurant to go cos they all look similiar and their prices are pretty similiar anyways, I randomly chose one. Upon arrival they would ask you to go to their food stand to pick what seafood you would like. I felt like crabs, some toothfish, and prawns and vegies. So the lady took the ingredients and charge us according to how much they weigh. The seafood was pretty fresh, the crabs were still alive when they took it into the kitchen (I felt bad cos they had to cook them alive…my animal consience kicks me however as long as I dont’ see them it’s fine since they were only crabs breed for eating.

Okies, since majority of my relatives are in Kaohsiung we decided to meet up for a nice meal. It was nice to catch up with them as we don’t see them often, we ended going to this seafood place which was nice and my auntie bought us this lovely box of muffin which apparently is very famous in Kaohsiung. Thanks Auntie – I gobbled it up while we stay in hotel, there were so many muffins… and then we caught the high speed rail to Taipei on our way Pandabear was feeling hungry so he ordered some train’s bento box, we were surprised that when the guy was pushing this food trolley nobody bought anything from it only Pandabear who requested for a bento box then we realised why, the serving was small and it was pricy for a small bento box and well the taste was pretty average. So next time you know why noone buys from the push trolley cos it’s a rip off! 🙂 Anyways, we had fun in Kaohsiung so it was time to head to taipei…

2 comments on “Food at Kaohsiung, Taiwan

  • Leave a Reply

